We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTED with the Front Office Staff & BAD Management!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altus
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISGUSTED with the Front Office Staff & BAD Management!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beds were comfortable, the front office staff was never available, no Management or Maintenance Staff on the premises during Memorial Day weekend with a booked hotel. Microwave did not work, light bulbs missing. Flies everywhere & fly traps located near food. Business Center did not have working printer (this issue was addressed the weekend prior to my stay by another family member to the front desk staff). Management has not returned phone calls made since checking out with billing & staff issues. Convenience to Altus Air Force Base fantastic! That was the reason for our staying at this facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Heather C,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to know our location worked for your needs.

We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
11
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff was very friendly, and our room was clean. The free hot breakfast was problematic from no clean tables to eat to missing items on the buffet to constant flies. Part of the fly problem may be that the front door is right next to the dining area so the flies will constantly be a problem. Also, food starts to be put away before the 10:00 AM deadline, which leaves the late eaters with less choices. The staff turned out the lights at 10:15 AM too. While the staff was friendly during other parts of our stay, the breakfast experiences was not pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Darin L,

Please accept our apologies that our breakfast did not run as smoothly as normal on the weekend of your visit. We have taken measures to ensure that on your next visit, you will have a much better experience with our breakfast staff and our breakfast, in general. In the future, I invite you to reach out to myself or any of the other management staff with any issues. We are always happy to assist you. We look forward to your next visit. Also, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

-Dean J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

In addition to checking in, I went to the front desk three times. Each time there was nobody at the desk. I kept calling out for someone to come to the desk and after awhile someone from the back office came out. At the very least, they need a bell at their desk.

When I saw them, the staff were very friendly.

While the hotel was clean, it was almost infested with flies and other flying bugs. I mentioned it to the staff and the response was "Yes ... it's that time of year!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel staff friendly and we hope you had a comfortable stay.

Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have had experience on your check in. I have forwarded your comments to the Front Office department for review and proper action.

We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I checked in on Monday, checked out on Saturday. There was a distinct but unidentifiable odor on the 4th floor. It disappeared once I entered my room but being so close to the Bar S meat factory I suspect a northern wind is the cause. My issue with this stay is mainy housekeeping. I returned to my room Tuesday evening to find the housekeeper did not replace the coffee I used that morning. The bed was made but not much else was done. That was the last time housekeeping did anything that week. I asked the front desk on Friday if I should expect housekeeping everyday and was told yes. I was out of my room by 9am each morning so I don't believe there was any reason it was not touched. I made sure there was no "Do not disturb" card in the slot before I left. Other than that and the odor, the room was nice, the building fairly new and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear jesse_50,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly, NJ
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stay here whenever visiting family in Altus. The accommodations are clean and relaxing.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great, near downtown, but away from traffic.
The place to stay in Altus; and near the Air Force base

Room Tip: We always pick a room on upper floors away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We see that you you have visited multiple times and thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit. If you are not a member of our IHG Rewards Program, please consider joining to earn points toward free stays and other exciting offers. Ask our front desk agent for details on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in Altus. The staff was nice, breakfast was good, the room was nice and clean. Staying here on business was a real pleasure and if I find myself near Altus American, I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHafer_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel, staff, and amenities. We strive to provide the best with all of those things. We hope to see you in Altus again. Our hotel is almost finished with a renovation, so you will find numerous updates on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly staff good breakfast location was on the outskirts of town which isnt bad, theres nothing in the town really, mostly military clientele pool was clean and staff was quick if we needed something.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate the positive comments about our hotel and staff. Guests are our top priority. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altus
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altus
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altus
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Altus
Days Inn Altus
#2 of 7 in Altus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus
Address: 2812 East Broadway, Altus, OK 73521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Altus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Altus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus, Oklahoma! Nestled in the beautiful town of Altus on the plains of southwestern Oklahoma, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus is ideally located less than two miles from Altus Air Force Base and three miles from Western Oklahoma State College. Families will enjoy staying in our Altus hotel while experiencing all that southwestern Oklahoma has to offer. You can explore the outdoors at the Altus City Reservoir or Quartz Mountain Nature Park. Other Altus attractions include the Museum of the Western Prairie and the Oklahoma Arts Institute. Our hotel in Altus has everything you need to stay comfortable during your visit to Oklahoma. Our choice hotel in Altus is perfect for business travelers, with its convenient access to companies such as Jackson County Memorial hospital, Western Equipment LLC, Quartz Mountain Aerospace, Bar-S Foods, Altus Aircraft Services and Altus Air Force Base, each just five miles away. With such easy access, you can make it to your meeting on time. During your stay at our Altus, OK hotel, be sure to enjoy a swim in the indoor pool, surf the web with the free high-speed, wireless Internet access or workout in the fitness center. You can start your day off right with the hot breakfast every morning, featuring 100% Arabica Smart Roast coffee and our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Altus hotel deals and book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Altus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing