We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area, excellent resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WorldMark Grand Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WorldMark Grand Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Afton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Rosa, Ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, excellent resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I am a Wyndham owner from California. I booked a 3BR for a family reunion with family that live in Oklahoma. It had 3 bathroom, even though the Wyndham website says the 3BRs only have 2 bath rooms. The unit I was in basically had 2 Master bedrooms. A king master and a queen master, both with on suite bathrooms, plus a bathroom in the hall for the 3rd bedroom which had twin beds, there is also a Murphy bed in the living area, so it sleeps 8. There were 8 of us and there was plenty of room. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Actually everyone we ran into were really friendly. This is a great place to relax. The golf course looks great (didn't bring my clubs). And there are some unusual things to see in the area. Darrel Starbird's Rod and Custom Car museum is pretty amazing. There is also a Motorcycle museum in Miami, OK not too far away. But if you want night life you'd have to drive to Tulsa, 1-2 hours away. The lake was beautiful and there were a few boats in the parking lot. So I suppose boating is the big attraction. The pool area was nice. The kitchen had everything you need to cook a meal. Every thing seemed well maintained. The units as well as the grounds.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Markb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We are worldmark owners from the Kansas City area. This was our first stay at this condo. We were very happy with this resort, it is located on Monkey Island, which is a pretty area with beautiful golf courses. We were within walking distance to the marina, where you can rent water sports or dine on an outside patio at Island Joes Kentena. We drove to Grove, OK a short jaunt, lots of antique shopping. Enjoyed the pool, the staff was very helpful and nice with tips on where to eat etc. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb16paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at WorldMark Grand Lake, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself while visiting our beautiful resort. While Monkey Island is a little isolated, there is definitely not a shortage of fun activities, so we are glad you were able to have a great experience outside of the resort as well. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Richard Auer
918-257-8069
richard.auer@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wyndham and Trip advisor need to update the name of this property. If you're looking for surf and sandy beaches this is not the place. It is in a beautiful part of Oklahoma on a 60 plus mile long man made lake. So golfing, quiet and boating are the things to do. One can easily hear some local music and enjoy adult beverages at the marina. Bring food and drink as amenities are few and far between. Plan on low driving speeds to get there and at night be Xtra careful as Bambi and friends may want to join you for the ride. sufficient local places to dine and relax but know that these places are real and survive on the ups and down of the economy with no taxpayer handouts from the political elite. Real people real economy. I will go back next year and look forward to the trip.
Luggage movement can be tricky. the luggage carts are more suited for Motel 6 and not this resort. There are literally ups and downs to get to some of the rooms, if you may be a bit challenged with mobility let the staff know. Staff is very friendly and far exceed staff at most other resorts. We have visited. So, ask for help.

Room Tip: Beware of luggage movement. We had a lot of luggage and it took the two of us to safely move our stu...
See more room tips
Green Features: These folks are in farm country and have understood sound environment practices long before Al Gore. My fellow Oklahomans depend on the soil for their livelihood.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, General Manager at WorldMark Grand Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. When visiting the Grand Lake area you can expect a nice peaceful stay and we are glad you were able to enjoy your time here. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Richard Auer
918-257-8069
Richard.auer@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband, toddler, and I took a last-minute long weekend here. Our 2-bedroom room was HUGE- the biggest resort room we've ever had. The room was in great shape- it was clean, modern, spacious, with all the amenities for a long stay with family or friends. There was a large patio (seating 4-6 comfortably) with a large gas grill. The resort is older with lobbies that smelled a little like grandma (if you know what I mean). There was a little arcade with 3 games (Pac-man, golf, hunting) and a good size rec room with pool and some other entertainment options. The pool is average size and good for a dip, but it wasn't landscaped as you might expect a "resort pool" to be. Our room overlooked a very well manicured golf course that also backed up to the Shangri-La resort. Afton is a rural area with limited restaurants and entertainment options, but the lake is within a short 5 minute walk. If you want to grab some groceries and stay at the resort of some low-key relaxation, this place is great. If you're looking for sightseeing and tourism, there's not a whole lot to recommend. We made the 2-hr drive into Tulsa for some entertainment on one day, so it's not too far to expand your horizons a little outside of Afton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course side, otherwise you'll overlook a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JETSETG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at WorldMark Grand Lake, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the review including some helpful tips for future guests. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad your family enjoyed the unit space and accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newalla
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Worldmark Grand Lake the end of July/first of August. The staff was friendly and helpful. The unit was wonderful. Nice and roomy and well kept. The dryer in the unit is the only one I've had in this type of place that actually gets your clothes dry in one cycle. It isn't lake front but a short walk to a public boat ramp where you can access the lake to fish. We had a nice and relaxing week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ducksoup1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

A little winding road to get there but that is to be expected around lake areas. It is right on the lake basically and right next to a very nice golf course. The amenities are fairly standard - outdoor pool and hot tub, small basketball court, activity center (billiards and table tennis and video games), and fitness center. The rooms were nice - we had a 1 bedroom for one night and a 3 bedroom for 2 nights - beds were comfy and place was clean. The kitchen had all the necessities and the grill worked. Grocery store about 15 minute drive away for all your lunch/dinner needs and you can walk to the marina. The lake wasn't that crowded but we were there on Sun-Tues. Staff was polite and helpful (although no elevators so getting up to the 2nd floor can be cumbersome if you have a lot of luggage).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nimbus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a beautiful place to spend a vacation. The rooms were clean and well kept and the pool and hot tub were both clean and well maintained. Its location on the Grand Lake means you are surrounded by water so any trip along the road into the resort offers gorgeous lake views. The golf course right next door also is very beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is even a computer for use free in the lobby, something very rare these days!! This resort is truly away from it all with only limited restaurants and shops nearby. But the drive to get to bigger towns is fun and relaxing with lake views at every turn. The only very minor gripe we had was with the lighting in the bedrooms. There was one recessed light and a lamp that didn't offer adequate lighting for reading after dark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucsimsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN TimberRidge Inn
21.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Vinita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami
22.8 mi away
Buffalo Run Casino & Resort
21.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Miami
Econo Lodge Miami
#6 of 8 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Grand Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Grand Lake

Property: WorldMark Grand Lake
Address: 57020 East Highway 125, Afton, OK 74331 (Formerly Resort at Grand Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Afton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Grand Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your WorldMark Grand Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Grand Lake Hotel Afton
Grand Lake Resort Afton Oklahoma
Resort Grand Lake
WorldMark Grand Lake Oklahoma/Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing