We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We DO NOT recommend this place...very rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Hartsgrove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We DO NOT recommend this place...very rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just before we sent out the invitations for our wedding re had realized that we did not have a block of rooms for our guest. After leaving multiple messages for the sales manager and NOT receiving a call back I decided to stop and check the place out. The hotel looked alright, the rooms were very clean and the house keeping staff was very pleasant to talk with. After taking with the sales manager she told me that the cheapest rate she could give me was $89 because that weekend there was a large even it town. I told her that sounded well and she was to send me the contract via email (that night). I should have known that night I would have problems. It took 4 days for her to send me the email and the price was wrong!! I left several phone messages for her, emails and yet no word from her. Finally a week after I had stopped and talked to them I get her on the phone and she is rude and pretty much told me that I was lying about the price she quoted me….after I told her that I have a paper here with your writing with the price you told me you would give my guest—she became very rude, told me “ fine I will redo the contract” and when I asked her if that would be with the correct price I got “fine whatever—I’ll get it sent” and she hung up on me!
My mistake was sending out my invitations believing that she would stand good what she told me…

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzbehvn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamJenkins, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Your contract has been redone and put in the computer, your guests just need to call and make their individual reservations. I apologize if you felt that we were anything but eager to assist you and your guests here at Sleep Inn and Suites.

I hope that things have worked out with your dog, I know a pet can be a part of the family.

Congrats again on your upcoming Wedding!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    30
    23
    13
See reviews for
55
45
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was our first stay in a Sleep Inn, the rooms have a somewhat modular feel to them but they are very well laid out and make for a great stay. If you feel you need plush furnishings this place is not for you but if you feel you want a good clean, well laid out room for a good night rest at a reasonable price then this is the place. We liked the big shower without the bathtub but some might want a tub. We were impressed that this was a complete no-smoking hotel and the place had a pleasant smell throughout. The breakfast was not that great and could have used a waffle machine to add to the danishes and biscuits and sausage. The only feature we would have liked to have seen was a mini fridge but our stay was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamJenkins, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We are very happy that you were pleased with our hotel and wish to thank you for taking the time to let us know. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again when you are passing through.

Pamela Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Sleep Inn July 4-5, 2011. First, check-in was cool (at first). After stating we were paying cash, THEN we were told about the $50.00 deposit. I guess you presume people would have it. I guess no $$-no room. This should have been explained at the time of registration. When I read "newly remodeled"/one of the newer hotels...I expect the carpet not to be frayed. If there is a stain, I think Resolve would work. The phones did not work properly in the room. I tried calling a toll free number following directions on phone and ended up with 911. My friend tried calling a local restaurant and the phone did not work properly. We did have a microwave but could not use it since the cord did not reach the plug on the desk/no extension cord. Since we did not plan to use it-we did not call down to the main desk. I loved the shower/my friend did as well. I don't like sinks outside the bathroom, there is no privacy. I did not know this at the time of booking. I am glad you had a smoking room though, glad we did not have to go to car.
I won't say I would not stay again, however there is a HIE next door and they seem to have gotten real good reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Pets allowed but they shouldn't bark even if they're vacuuming the hallway..crazy!.. they let crazy 14 yr old kids running and screaming on the hallway ..we slept 2 am bcoz of that..bad service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodtripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austinburg hotels

MT. Dora
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

This place was horrible. The springs in the mattress were popped out of the bed!! My six year old daughter lay down and got cut. The manager is a JOKE! Will not return phone calls. She had someone else call and tell us that they were going to send us a PARTIAL refund for our troubles. YEAH! THAT NEVER HAPPENED! Would not advise anyone to stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justpamandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamJenkins, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
I sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is my goal as manager to make sure each of our guests have a pleasant stay at our hotel. I did speak with you regarding this matter on a couple occasions, and let you know that I would be refunding you a portion of your stay. I did send the money order out the following day. I tried to follow up with you, however, the number we have is not a valid number. Again, I apolgize for any inconveniences you may have had. and we are very happy that your daughter only got a scratch and didnt need any medical attention.
Please call the hotel and one of our desk clerks will happy to help you, if you have any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I just needed a place to crash for the night on the way up to Niagara Falls. It's right next door to a Holiday Inn Express, which I like very much, but they were $30 more...so I decided to give the Sleep Inn a try.

I've never been to a Sleep. Like all Choice Hotels, I've learned to trust reviews as the properities are inconsistent...much more variation than a Hampton, Fairfield or HIE.

This Sleep Inn reminded me very much of a budget hotel in the UK or Ireland, such as a Jury Inn or Premier Inn. The room had a Euro vibe going...open closet, shower with no bathtub, and funky bedspreads. Everything functioned fine and the TV had lots of channels. The free WiFi worked just fine with zero authentication required.

The indoor pool area felt very enclosed, like being in a parking garage. But, the kids enjoyed it, the water and ambient temperature was fine. Towels were provided.

Breakfast was on the lower end. No waffles or any other hot items besides gravy. We found plenty to eat though, and my younger son discovered the joy of "real" yogurt with fruit, vs the Trix he had been eating for years. Unfortunately, the area including the tables was not being wiped down.

Check-in and check-out was pleasant, and I have no regrets and $30 extra for the gas tank over staying next door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamJenkins, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We are thrilled that you chose to stay at our hotel for the first time. We are also very grateful that you have taken the time to let us know how your stay went, as this gives us an opportunity to make sure that we meet all of our guests expectations as that is what we strive for. We look forward to having you stay at our hotel again in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The hotel was fine, but the beds were so very uncomfortable. We were supposed to stay two nights, but I couldn't stay there a second night, so we went next door to the Holiday Inn Express. Very, much nicer!!

Also... very slow high speed internet and breakfast was worthless. My son said the biscuits were OK, the gravy was cold and my coffee was only lukewarm, closer to cool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinnia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamJenkins, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know what areas we need to improve. I would like to apologize to you for not meeting your expectations of our hotel, Our staff and hotel strive to assure each guest has an enjoyable stay at Sleep Inn- Ashtabula. We hope you give us an opportunity to show you that we do take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously and stay at our hotel again.

Pamela Jenkins, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.1 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
5.0 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Address: 9350 Center Rd, Austinburg, OH 44010-8200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Austinburg
Austinburg Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula Austinburg, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing