We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly great hotel!”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We just returned from a trip to Ashtabula. I was a little nervous about this hotel because I'm a bit of a hotel snob. But I can honestly say that this hotel exceeded our expectations. The bed was incredibly comfortable; great mattress, soft bedding, soft and firm pillow choices. The room fan provided nice white noise at night without being noisy. Free wireless internet worked perfectly. The entire hotel was unbelievably clean too. The staff was friendly and helpful when we needed them. The free breakfast in the morning is a nice bonus; no, it's not like it's a full service restaurant that can make you an omelette, but there is a great selection of cereals, baked goods, yogurt, fruit, juice, etc. and one hot breakfast item daily. Fridge and microwave in room were a nice convenience, considering there's not a lot of stuff nearby. BTW, the restaurant at the Flying J down the road is pretty decent and open 24 hours. For something a little nicer, try Chops in Geneva, about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoneMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    112
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
158
126
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Driving back from Tempe AZ the wife and I were caught in a blizzard on the I-90. We Tom-Tom'ed this place. Thank God it was only 10 miles away! Check-in went well. Room was pricy ($100 with tax). We usually paid $40 to $60 per night for our rooms at other motels. However, the price was worth every penny! The place is fantastic. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Wi-Fi was good, bathroom conditions excellent. Only knocks were the older microwave and older mini-fridge. The wife and I had our best nights sleep on the entire trip at this place.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloBill716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Jason, the front desk clerk was very nice, courteous, and competent. The hotel, however, was NOISY. Kids running amok, motorcycles gunning their engines in the parking lot, etc. If you're looking for quiet, this probably isn't the place. The walls are extremely thin, denoting cheap construction. Since they obviously can't do anything about that now, they need to crack down on guest noise. The room doors slam like something in Cellblock C, and you can hear the kids running down the hall, right out of The Shining. Decent facilities otherwise, but nothing special here. too bad.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley,MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Liked this place so much when I stayed in September taht re booked when we went back to Erie PA in November.
Spacious double queens are roomy , well decorated , well maintained with wonderfully comfy beds that are guaranteed to give you a good nights sleep.
Staff , Brandy , Jason etc are the best . So very kind and professional , I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank QPR_4_ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Ashtabula County Ohio has more covered bridges than anywhere in Ohio and possibly any area of the USA. During our trip, the Hampton Inn showed a totally booked status on the Hilton reservations website, but a call to the hotel directly around 4PM found the last room available - a King with whirlpool. The price was competitive with other hotels in the area even for last minute last room availability. HiltonHHonors info was taken and the room confirmed. We could have paid slightly less for another chain without the whirlpool in the room and the Hilton bed amenities.

Check in was speedy and the personnel was quite nice. The hotel has an indoor pool, exercise room, 24 hour lobby coffee and is close to I-90 and many Ohio routes. The room was very large - larger than other Hampton Inn rooms lodged in the past and had a microwave and refrigerator, chair and ottoman, setee, as well as 25" TV and desk with leather executive chair. The bath was exceptionally large and the whirlpool - for two - was in a separate room. The king bed was exceptionally comfortable to Hilton standards and there were several pillow types to choose from. Standard Hampton toiletries were available and the towels were soft compared to standard hotel "rough" stock. Everything was quite clean and the only a burned out light bulb in one of the many, many lamps and fixtures in the room was overlooked.

In the morning there was a hot breakfast bar and cold and baked items. At the normal shut down time, the attendant asked if we had enough to eat as she would leave things up for us for a short while. This was not necessary but was notable as in other places, quitting time was quitting time.

The Hampton Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg is recommended.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tzzydzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We booked two rooms for 4 adults and 4 children. The rooms were wonderful and roomy. The beds and chairs were comfortable. The blankets were clean and wonderfully inviting. The front desk was very helpful as we arrived separately and were not even on premises when the second car arrived. They went out of their way to give us rooms directly across from each other. We ordered pizza and ate it in the dining area of the lobby. Very comfortable and homey. The best word to describe this motel is hospitable like a hotel/motel should be. The housekeeping staff was pleasant and helpful. I would love to stay again next weekend as I have to pass through again but they are booked solid. I can certainly see why! I will plan ahead next trip and stay here.

  • Liked — Friendly, hospitable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pal1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

My friend and I were in Ohio to visit some of the wineries in the area and stayed at the Hampton in Austinburg. Generally, I do seek out Hamptons wherever I go as I find them to be among the cleanest of hotels as well as offering a nice breakfast. This hotel in particular is one of the nicest yet. The desk clerk was amazingly friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the beds.....WOW! I haven't slept so well in years. All I want to know is where I can buy a mattress and pillows like those. I have back problems and woke up feeling refreshed with not one ache or pain anywhere. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in the area. Thanks for such a wonderful night!

  • Liked — The beds!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heyhon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
20.8 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ashtabula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ashtabula

Property: Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Address: 2900 G.H. Drive, Austinburg, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Austinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ashtabula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Ashtabula is located on the shores of beautiful Lake Erie. Our hotel has 71 guestrooms, accessible rooms, pool, business center and fitness center to accommodate all of your traveling needs. Our hotel also proudly offers free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room and the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Ashtabula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ashtabula Hotel Austinburg
Hampton Inn Austinburg
Austinburg Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ashtabula Austinburg, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing