We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago. We try to come down to O.U. every year for a weekend visit, and usually stay at the Holiday Inn. This time around they were completely booked so we decided to stay at the O.U. Inn. I am so glad that we booked a room here. Normal check in time is 3pm. I received a call on Friday stating that check in time would be at 5pm for Saturday due to the full occupancy. When we arrived the next day, we were told that they would not have a room available until 6p.m. I was very disappointed at first. We were only staying overnight, and knowing that checkout is at noon, we didn't have much time to spend in the area. The reason I am giving them 5 stars is that the room was super clean and the management was extremely accommodating providing great customer service. It has a beautiful outdoor area and it's literally a hop and a skip from the university. After talking to the front desk we were able to do a late checkout: 3pm. I don't remember the girl's name but she was probably the nicest and most polite hotel personnel that I have met. Kudos to the O.U. Inn. Our new favorite place to stay at when visiting the area! ~ Room 361 guests

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kit_kat_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was excellent. The outdoor patio was a great spot for dining and Cutler's Restaurant was very good. A healthy jaunt to the heart of Athens, but if you're into walking it works. The area around Athens is a really gorgeous landscape.
Go up Ridge to see the old insane asylum turned into an art museum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There was nothing fancy about this hotel, was a bit overpriced I thought but the location for our activities was perfect. The bed was pretty darn comfy and the room was clean, in room coffee was pretty good too. This is a great hotel for parents of OU students as it is on campus and within walking distance to many things.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingFurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ohio University Inn and Conference Center for three nights and four days. We were house hunting as I will be joining Ohio University as an Associate Professor in August. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely helpful and always friendly. We drove from Baton Rouge LA and arrived at 4 am in the morning to check inn and the woman at the front desk was so friendly and polite.
Our room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The air conditioner worked fine and the bathrooms were spotless.
We ate most of our meals in their restaurant. The wait staff in the restaurant was professional and kind. The food was excellent - we never had a meal that did not exceed our expectations. What we both liked is that you immediately felt like you were old customers that had been coming to this place for years. They saw to our needs and were so friendly. My recommendation to all individuals is that if you are traveling to Athens you have to stay at the Ohio University Inn and Conference Center. Thank you for making our visit a great experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay. They were painting the interior during our stay and the restaurant was closed, but the facility was clean and quiet. The staff was pleasant and professional. Close proximity to OU, but not really within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very clean room, friendly staff, love the outdoor space. Walking distance to OU campus! Looking forward to many stays at this hotel. Our son is an incoming Freshman at OU and we plan to visit. Its awesome to have a clean, comfortable hotel while visiting the OU campus. I have many friends with children at OU, I will highly recommend this hotel to them all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Also stayed two nights for orientation. Had a king suite with a separate bedroom which was nice since the first night new freshman son slept on the pull out couch. Room was very spacious and clean with 2 TVs and a minifridge. Microwave would be nice too. Furnishings are a bit dated and worn. It was very hot during our visit but our room was comfortable and cool. Pool looked gorgeous! Fitness room was fine. Med school was holding their orientation in the inn because air conditioning was not working on the med campus. Even with the inn busy and full, our room was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments from your visit to Athens and Ohio University. I am so happy you were able to experience one of our luxious suites for you orientation visit. The Inn does offer microwaves upon request for your next visit. We look forward to serving you over the next four years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
527 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
23.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701-3205
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing