We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I just finished my third stay at the OU Inn.
My daughter is a student and this is by far the most convenient place to stay, just off campus. You don't have to deal with the hassle and expense of parking.
Check in is smooth. Employees are courteous. Room is very clean. Furniture is standard issue hotel furniture. Wireless is good. Bed and linens are very comfortable but pillow is just ok. Couch is pretty uncomfortable, very short from front to back and I'm 5'2". My room had a small balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the nice outdoor patio and pool area.
My only problem was that housekeeping was a little loud in the hall. I was awakened by them wanting to clean my room at around 9:30- my fault because I had not put out my do not disturb hang tag. I got up and hung my sign out. I was awake and staying up so it was not huge for me but they seemed to be standing right outside my door having a normal volume conversation (work related). The hotel seemed fairly empty when I stayed but does not seem particularly well sound proofed which might be a problem during busier times.
Got coffee from room service. Very quick.
Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 485 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent, Very clean and service was excellent.. Hotel is a little dated, very clean and comfortable. Front desk very helpful. Plus good place to see the Football and Basketball coaches. Best Restaurant in Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beds are soft and comfortable. We stayed on a Sunday night, so it was quiet and peaceful. The only hotel in walking distance to Ohio University.... which saved much time and money in the morning. Clean. Updated and by far my first choice in Athens.... everything else pales in comparison.

Room Tip: On a Sunday night-- all rooms are quiet.... on a Friday, you might try the back area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

in and out on a biz trip. got to hotel a bit early. room wasnt ready. i asked when it might be prepared - front desk checked with housekeeping - they gave me a time (about 1 hour) and it was ready as promised. nice sized rooms. clean, comfortable, and easy to work in. about the only negative is the small bar/lounge. not many seats - service is average at best. very convenient to the university or downtown and easy access to the main highways in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been staying here annually for a few nights for several years. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are a bit dated, and you have to be careful about your room location. Front desk staff a bit undertrained. Restaurant one of the better in Athens.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance. Discuss room location with reservations staff. Insist upon what was agreed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EchoBravo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went there for a wedding last weekend and from looking at the pictures online I expected the rooms to feel old and musty due to the decorations. Turns out the hotel was much nicer than we thought. Newer bedding and updated bathrooms. The only disappointment was the wedding party had booked the suites many months in advance and the guests were suppose to be put in rooms near each other. For some reason the suite was not available and the rooms were all spread all over the hotel. Such ashame management did not keep their promise in reserving the suite. It was suppose to be a meeting place for any one from out of town. It was a major inconvenience.

Room Tip: Don't book a specific room here and all will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suittsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was large and clean, but nothing special. The location was great and the hotel has a nice pool and outdoor area with a fire pit. However, the price was high for a very basic room that could have used some updating. Dinner at Cutler's was very good as was the breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like there are many options for a nice hotel in Athens and we will likely stay here again in spite of the the average rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was nice for you to mention how clean and spacious our guestrooms were and that they met your needs while you were in town. I was also glad you could relax and enjoy the amenities we offer including our in-house Cutler's Restaurant, beautiful pool, outdoor patio and fire pit.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
521 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
23.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $107 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing