We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Board Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Above Board Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I recently had our wedding reception at the OU Inn and stayed there as guests. The rooms are nicely furnished with plenty of amenities! The one thing that really stood out to me, however, is how quiet it was; none of the normal hotel noise you usually get (other people talking, doors slamming, etc). Although each and every staff member that we came across was extremely helpful, there are three people that I would like to give a special mention.

The first would be Jacque; she went above and beyond any expectation I had. People repeatedly asked me if I needed help with the reception and if I was getting "stressed out". My answer was the same every time, "the reception is a piece of cake...Jacque has me covered!" She regularly called or emailed me to check in and see if there was anything I needed; she made me feel as if I were the only client that the hotel had!

The second employee is Steve. I can not possibly say enough about his customer service skills! He made our experience wonderful! He was always there, offering to pitch in and help in any way that he could! Customer service is something that I find is lacking in most businesses now a days and Steve is the epitome of what it should look like! He set up the ballroom for the reception and did a fantastic job...everything was absolutely beautiful!

The third employee I would like to mention is Jonathan; he is a true assett to your facility! Chefs are not always known for their people skills but not only is he a marvelous chef, but a wonderful "people person"! Our guests could not stop raving about the incredible food! We chose filet mignon, chicken marsala and the portabella mushroom lasagna and not one person was disappointed! The only down side is that a few people ordered chicken instead of the filet, because traditionally, wedding reception filet isn't always the best...but when they tasted the filet they were sad they didn't get it...even though they loved their chicken!

We visited Cutler's restaurant two weeks after the wedding and I had the best scallops I have ever eaten...even when I've been vacationing on the coast!! The service is wonderful and the food is by far the best in Athens!! Whether planning a trip, an event, or an evening out...the OU inn is THE choice!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    106
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
160
63
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Great location close to town - our rooms were clean and comfortable. Decent breakfast buffet in the restaurant. although I was surprised there was no continental included with the rooms as with most hotels. One warning - make sure your reservations are confirmed and correct. Ours were totally messed up twice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

OU Inn may be a little more expensive than some of the other Athens hotels but it is worth the extra cost because of location, cleanliness and atmosphere.
Visiting PU you never have to search for parking, less than1 mile to downtown bars and dining. Friendly staff at hotel, rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stymie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

A hotel should be rated on SLEEP QUALITY, Cleanliness, and Location... ALL THREE are important and to fail any is sufficient to earn a critical review.

The OU Inn has PAPER THIN walls... it's 3a and I've been awake for 2 hours as a parade of guests has roamed the halls, slammed doors, and held conversations in their rooms that I feel I am a part of.
On one side of my room a guest is berating a friend for losing his cell phone while on the other "Cathy" seems to be distressed that her partner and his friends have had too much to drink. I feel as if I am part of each conversation as well as several others taking place in the hallway.
Bottom line - this is a nice hotel charging steep prices - but if you can't sleep here, why stay here?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc2cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our family had a swim meet at OU. Everthing was great. Very clean room. Good service.
Since we felt the restaurant was over priced, we ate at restaurants around the town.
My family will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmoofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

It's after midnight. There are at least 3 young women in the next room, talking, laughing. They are not having a loud party -- but I can hear the conversation clearly. I've called down to the desk, but there's no change, because the young women probably don't think they are making much noise.

Otherwise, the room is nice enough, and the staff have been very pleasant.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MidwestFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I love staying at the Ohio Univ. Inn. The rooms and bed are very comfortable. The staff is friendly. My only complaint is that they set up restrictions that make no sense at all. Many Fridays are blocked as "check out only" days, or for some reason, they sometimes tack on a 3 night minimum stay required. With a student at Ohio University, I like to visit on the weekends on occasion. On several occasions I have had to stay at other hotels in the area simply because I would be arriving on a Friday, or was planning on staying fewer than 3 nights. To be clear, these restrictions are not in place all the time. I have come and checked in on Friday & I have come and stayed only 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom-on-the-go-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
1.2 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Property: Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Address: 331 Richland Ave, Athens, OH 45701-3205
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The newly renovated Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing