We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Night in Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Night in Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As far as HIs go this one was great. Nice and clean and quiet. It was situated nearby to restaurants etc. The room was very spacious and clean and it was functional to conduct work in. The WiFi was free and I found it to be super fast.

This property see a great deal of traffic because of its proximity to Ohio University but it doesn't show!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFlight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
55
33
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I travel on a regular basis and try to always stay at a Holiday Inn , but the one in Athens Ohio has to be the worst. The last time I was there I made a reservation with the intention of enjoying the indoor pool, but even after check in there was no mention of the pool being out of order. When I asked about it I was told that the pool was closed unexpectedly, but after seeing the work permit on the door the work actually had been scheduled for over a month prior to our stay. Our next stay about a month later we arrived everything seemed to be good until we got to our room. The bedding was dirty and stained, the phone didn't work in the room. It almost appeared the room hadn't been cleaned then on our second day the surprises just kept coming went to get ice and the ice bucket still had water from the last guest. Even though the staff is very polite I would still highly recommend staying at the Hampton Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Thank you for staying with us again and for providing us with your valuable feedback. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the pool area and your room accommodation. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a great Holiday Inn property. Everyone was very nice and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and updated, complete with a microwave and fridge. Bathrooms are large, as are the rooms. There wasn't a desk in mine but a small table served the purpose just fine.

Breakfast was included and it was really good, especially for a complimentary meal. It's similar to the spreads I've seen at Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnow1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stay at this hotel when I visit my daughter at Ohio University. It is only 5 minutes from campus. I have always found it to be clean with rather large rooms for a HI Express. The staff at this hotel is very friendly. The breakfast is very good for a continental style breakfast. They have a lot of options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amyandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Athens. This hotel is clean and convenient with a roomy bathoom and and comfortable bedding. The complimentary breakfast is better than average and the coffee was even pretty good. The hotel features an indoor pool and an excercise room and is located on a walking trail.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a concert at Fur Peace Ranch and this was convenient to our destination. The room was big and nicely appointed and the people at the desk were friendly and helpful. The bed and linens were good. We will stay here again - I must add that the complementary breakfast is like all complementary breakfasts - pretty bad. But everyone knows this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first visit to Athens in 20 years (prior to the HIE being built) and we were very happy with the entire experience. The hotel is attractive, plenty of complementary food and beverage in the lobby, spacious rooms. Some small problems in the room, which we reported, including the sink not being attached at the kitchenette and some burned out light bulbs. However, these were minor concerns. Overall, this was a very good place to stay and very convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abjj117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
3.0 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Address: 555 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing