We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, convenient, and very nice hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, and very nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Athens. This hotel is clean and convenient with a roomy bathoom and and comfortable bedding. The complimentary breakfast is better than average and the coffee was even pretty good. The hotel features an indoor pool and an excercise room and is located on a walking trail.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
57
33
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a concert at Fur Peace Ranch and this was convenient to our destination. The room was big and nicely appointed and the people at the desk were friendly and helpful. The bed and linens were good. We will stay here again - I must add that the complementary breakfast is like all complementary breakfasts - pretty bad. But everyone knows this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first visit to Athens in 20 years (prior to the HIE being built) and we were very happy with the entire experience. The hotel is attractive, plenty of complementary food and beverage in the lobby, spacious rooms. Some small problems in the room, which we reported, including the sink not being attached at the kitchenette and some burned out light bulbs. However, these were minor concerns. Overall, this was a very good place to stay and very convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abjj117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Chose this hotel over the Hampton Inn, Athens, mainly due to the attitude of the front desk staff. the guy at the Hampton Inn was rather snooty, while the ladies on the front desk at the HIE were incredibly warm and friendly. The price was almost the same, so we stayed at the HIE - and very glad we did.

The king room was a decent size, well decorated, with a modern bathroom. The bed itself was super comfortable and the choice between soft and firm pillows very welcome. The internet was fast but one small annoyance was the fact that the password had to be re-entered every so often.

The staff continued to be very helpful and the free breakfast was excellent - especially the pancake making machine!

The only real downside was the fact that the laundry facilities were out of order (the washer) which meant having to go up the road to do the washing (it was laundry day on a cross country motorcycle trip!)

Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr1ncess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cold in ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having a son at Ohio University we have spent many nights at the area hotels. The Hampton Inn is usually our first choice but it was sold out this past weekend so we got a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It was nicer than I remembered having spend one night there last year. Comfy beds, big bathroom, quiet rooms though it was crowded, nice newer shower. They don't have a min-fridge like the Hampton does. The Holiday Inn Express is closer to the university and you are able to walk across the parking lot to a CVS and Applebees which is nice. We took off early in the morning so we didn't take part in the breakfast but these "free" breakfasts are never good for more than the coffee anyway in my opinion. The room had a coffeemaker.

Like others have said, the choices are limited in Athens especially on weekends with university events. This hotel should be one of your top choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlytravelsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let's begin with the reality, the hotel market in Athens is pretty skimpy and there are not a lot of great choices. That said, we have been staying at this HIE for a few years and it has been a good location for us. It is close to the highway, the town, and the university which makes it convenient. One reviewer thought it was hard to find but I disagree, the hotel is clearly visible and while it is behind a CVS and an Applebee's you can see it and find it without much trouble. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is good as long as you remember you are eating at the hotel and not at a fancy breakfast place. If I had any complaints they would be that the hotel can be noisy and there is minimal soundproofing, the A/C is noisy and the large rooms can be hard to control temperature in, and it is starting to wear a bit, particularly in the bathrooms and around the grout lines. But the staff is friendly and quite helpful and this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the room was huge for the price. We were amazed to have gotten such a good price on a great room like we had. And the FREE breakfast they offer, WOW!!! Couldn't believe it was free with all they had to choose from. A full hot breakfast every day and you can even take it back to your room if you like. I would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: The king suite is wonderful!! Huge room and very nice for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
23.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Address: 555 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing