We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Athens)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hometown Inn(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
78
73
16
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
73
16
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog parkcinnamon rollsnice propertyweekend trippancake makersome tlclarge breakfast areacommunity parkwould definitely stay here againohio universitylady workingoff the highwayroom was cleanstayed one nightmini fridgefront desk staff were friendlywe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 176 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Chose this hotel over the Hampton Inn, Athens, mainly due to the attitude of the front desk staff. the guy at the Hampton Inn was rather snooty, while the ladies on the front desk at the HIE were incredibly warm and friendly. The price was almost the same, so we stayed at the HIE - and very glad we did.

The king room was a decent size, well decorated, with a modern bathroom. The bed itself was super comfortable and the choice between soft and firm pillows very welcome. The internet was fast but one small annoyance was the fact that the password had to be re-entered every so often.

The staff continued to be very helpful and the free breakfast was excellent - especially the pancake making machine!

The only real downside was the fact that the laundry facilities were out of order (the washer) which meant having to go up the road to do the washing (it was laundry day on a cross country motorcycle trip!)

Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr1ncess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having a son at Ohio University we have spent many nights at the area hotels. The Hampton Inn is usually our first choice but it was sold out this past weekend so we got a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It was nicer than I remembered having spend one night there last year. Comfy beds, big bathroom, quiet rooms though it was crowded, nice newer shower. They don't have a min-fridge like the Hampton does. The Holiday Inn Express is closer to the university and you are able to walk across the parking lot to a CVS and Applebees which is nice. We took off early in the morning so we didn't take part in the breakfast but these "free" breakfasts are never good for more than the coffee anyway in my opinion. The room had a coffeemaker.

Like others have said, the choices are limited in Athens especially on weekends with university events. This hotel should be one of your top choices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlytravelsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let's begin with the reality, the hotel market in Athens is pretty skimpy and there are not a lot of great choices. That said, we have been staying at this HIE for a few years and it has been a good location for us. It is close to the highway, the town, and the university which makes it convenient. One reviewer thought it was hard to find but I disagree, the hotel is clearly visible and while it is behind a CVS and an Applebee's you can see it and find it without much trouble. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is good as long as you remember you are eating at the hotel and not at a fancy breakfast place. If I had any complaints they would be that the hotel can be noisy and there is minimal soundproofing, the A/C is noisy and the large rooms can be hard to control temperature in, and it is starting to wear a bit, particularly in the bathrooms and around the grout lines. But the staff is friendly and quite helpful and this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the room was huge for the price. We were amazed to have gotten such a good price on a great room like we had. And the FREE breakfast they offer, WOW!!! Couldn't believe it was free with all they had to choose from. A full hot breakfast every day and you can even take it back to your room if you like. I would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: The king suite is wonderful!! Huge room and very nice for the price.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express while attending a wedding in Athens. It was very clean,. The breakfasts were very well prepared and quite good. The desk clerks were extremely helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was memorable. I would recommend this hotel highly! Very close to Ohio University as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews