We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”
Review of Hampton Inn Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Athens
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed many many times at the Hampton Inn in Athens -visiting a son at Ohio University -I am always impressed by the friendliness of the all the staff from the front desk onwards....
The hotel is clean and the new renovations are smart. I really appreciate that they use environmentally friendly "paper goods , cutlery" etc in for their free breakfasts. I like that they offer almond and soy milk too. The breakfasts are a good option even for a vegan - there is always oatmeal .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmavarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

On business, have stayed a few times at another national brand highly ranked hotel in Athens. This time, I chose the Hampton Inn. Considering both are categorized as mid-range hotels, I expected them to be pretty much the same. What a surprise! The Hampton Inn is much nicer. In fact, I think it's safe to say it's by far the nicest hotel in Athens.

Room is large, clean and well appointed, with a Microwave and Mini-Fridge in my room, though not sure rooms are equipped with those. Tastefully furnished, with a comfortable seating area, a large flat screen tv and plenty of room. I was in a double/double room. The room had very much a "clean and fresh" feel.

Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Breakfast room was clean, and nicely appointed, although the breakfast was a little hectic. Complimentary USA Today in lobby, as well as local papers.

I overnight in Athens once or twice a month, and without doubt, this is now my overwhelming first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crango1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The only place to stay in the area. And I have stayed in them all. Great staff, outstanding desk for the business traveler with 8 plugs and hard wire internet all at a comfortable desk.
Nothing negative to report on this one.

Room Tip: get a room on second or third floor around *14-*18. That will be away from the elevator and the ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for two days between work assignments. I'm a consultant based out of Atlanta, and I stay in hotels all around the world during the week. Sometimes I actually make it home for the weekend, but often find myself trying to relax in another city visiting friends. When I checked in, I was told to park at the end of the hotel and walk up three flights of steps because its closer to my room... And the one elevator was broken. So I did... But, the locked door at that end of the building was broken, so I had to walk the length of the hotel back to the front entrance (elevator not fixed yet), and then back inside to get to the steps to take me up 3 flights. The room was nice, and I was able to get a couple extra pillows. The stay was enjoyable. The night before check out I got in very late, so I stopped at the desk and asked if I could get a late check out so I could get some sleep (clocks moved forward an hour in the night since day light savings). The front desk clerk said no, she isn't authorized to do that. She said to call the manager in the morning and ask. I replied that if I have to set my alarm for early morning anyway just to ask if I can sleep in, then I might as well just get up. She said okay. So I went back to the room and then called down asking for a 10:30 wake up call. I went to sleep. 11:00 am rolled around (no wake up call but i woke up anyway) and I called the desk asking for an extra hour for check out. She said no they can't authorize that. I told her that it was their fault the wake up call didn't work and they are STILL not going to allow a later checkout? She said no and that if I had a problem with it I could call her manager: I said ok, what's her number? She's not here right now.... ! So end of story. Just want people to be aware of a few things. The rooms were nice, the people aren't.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidney6653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The staff is always nice and helpful. Clean rooms and pool. The only issue we had is the breakfast is bland. And you can tell some of the breads and muffins were yesterday's!! Over all, it's great. Nearby is the movie theatre, lots of restaurants and shopping. OHio University is just around the corner. Great location for incoming sports teams, family's...etc.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stone1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having a student at Ohio University-we have made a few trips down to Athens! The Hampton Inn is by far the nicest place we have stayed at. The Inn is well kept and the location is just a short drive from campus. The rooms are comfortable and hallways are very quiet. We enjoyed the generous complimentary breakfast. Didn't have time for the pool or hot tub but they looked inviting. Felt very safe at this property and the staff was very welcoming.Priced a little higher than other places in the area but well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1959Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was a new hotel in the area for us but we have stayed at many Hamptons in the past. The room was clean but a bit cramped. The bathroom door opened into the room which seemed a bit odd to us. The linens were fresh but the bed sagged a bit when we were both on it, a new experience for us at a Hampton Inn. In the morning hot water was in short supply, perhaps because of the wrestling and hockey teams staying in the hotel. But really hot water should never be a problem. Breakfast was fine, typical for a Hampton, we always like the oatmeal and waffles. The heating unit was reasonably quiet, but cold air was leaking into the room all around it, really a serious draft. We put my daughter's suitcase in front of it and she said her jeans were freezing in the morning. How much could could caulk or weatherstripping cost to solve this problem?

The issue in Athens is that there are not many choices so you have to be prepared for some compromise. We have stayed at a few places in town and this seems about equal to the better competitors. That said, it is convenient to OU, to the highway, to stores and chain restaurants, and whatever you might need. It is a decent night's sleep, albeit a bit pricey. We would rank this a close number 2 of the places in Athens to stay and certainly a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: We would recommend the top floor so no one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
2.9 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
3.7 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
24.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Athens

Address: 986 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $112 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Athens, Oh hotel is located conveniently near Ohio University and adjacent to the business district and the Market on State shops. Enjoy Complimentary hot breakfast,Free Wi-Fi and our clean and fresh Cloud 9 bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing