We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, bad service”
Review of Casa Nueva

Casa Nueva
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Ashland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh food, bad service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved the fresh food (all local) but our server was not attentive at all. At one point she was sitting down eating while we waited for a refill on our beer. Her attitude was like we were totally inconveniencing her for being there. I ended up asking another server for our drinks, then at the end of the meal we asked for desert, her response was "the kitchen is closed" and I just looked at her wide eyed in disbelief, she then said "let me ask them if they can make that for you anyway". They made it for us and it was quite good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingFurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best Chimichunga Ever!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic all around! Parent visiting campus, expecting campus type foods – did not expect this! Very fresh, great variety of salsa’s & dining options! Staff was absolutely the best (expect 5 star service but friendlier!) Brew selections very good as well. Slight wait…well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvscigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have only been for breakfast on Sundays, but definitely recommend it. Food was very, very good and as others have posted, they make an effort to use local ingredients. Although in an economically depressed area, other than the university, a lot of people are building small farms and the town seems to do a good job of promoting local food - the Farmers Market is super.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All fresh and local”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The prices here include the tip as this is a worker owned and operated establishment. The serbers are very responsive to requests and the menu is altered to suit. Loved this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hosrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rude, inefficient staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

waited at the bar to order and was ignored. Very inefficient process for ordering. The food and drink may be good but we left after tiring of waiting.

Bad service wil always dimish the value of good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlalley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nueva also viewed

 

Been to Casa Nueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing