We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Diner”
Review of Union Street Diner

Union Street Diner
Ranked #8 of 134 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best diner in Athens hands down. Classic diner feel with friendly local wait staff. Food is as diner food should be, comes out quick, and just a really relaxing environment. Good for any day any time.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2019

We were quite disappointed with the experience at this diner. We had arrived in Athens after a nearly 10 hour drive, it was late in the evening and we were quite hungry. This place seemed as good as any to grab a bite. Prices were reasonable with the average offering in the $10.00 range. My son and I both got the cheeseburger. It was clearly a frozen patty, non descript and cooked on a flattop griddle. The burger had no taste and was very disappointing. One thin slice of cheese did little to improve it. French fries were adequate. My wife had the grilled ham and cheese. Two or three pieces of ham rolled up like you'd find on a cold cut platter in between two slices of bread and perhaps two slices of cheese. Extremely mediocre at best.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019

Everything we ordered was good and the portion sizes were large. We isn’t have to wait long at all for our meals, either.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slpsomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

Fresh pies, daily specials. Sandwiches come plenty of fries.
The milkshakes are ok, too much whipped cream and syrup for my taste.
Very friendly and accommodating.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank wvjodymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2019

Right off campus. Easy walk large menu with plenty of choices. Rather small building so expect a wait during special weekends when more people are on campus. Will be eating here again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Vtwinbmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Union Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing