We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shade on State St.

Shade on State St.
Ranked #11 of 117 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our food was very good and out bartender took very good care of us.We ordered pizza at a wing place and to much of our surprise it was very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    25
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
471 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Sports Bar with Decent Wings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were driving through Athens and decided to stop for a bit to eat on the way home. We were not disappointed. This is a basic sports bar with wings, beer, and the like--and lots of TVs but the wings were good, and the funnel cake fries were a nice treat. The location is clean and service (mostly coeds from the local university) was acceptable and friendly. We were pleased we stopped. It was what we were looking for--a tasty snack on our way home. This is pretty much a clone of Rooster's but not in a bad way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Average bar food was okay. Not a bad place for a lunch or quick bite. It's your basic sports bar... There are better places to eat in town.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“went for a latenight "snack"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Food was average. Got a salad. It was good sized. Overall, I would recommend if staying at the Hampton Inn. It is only a walk over the hill

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank prettypony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ehhhhhhh....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just so-so. Bland inexpensive food. Keep your expectations low and you will fill your belly without emptying your wallet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank very_fast_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shade on State St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing