We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Athens
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
A TripAdvisor Member
“Stay away !!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Avoid this property at all costs!! The management, as mentioned in other reviews, is EXTREMEMLY rude! I was yelled at by at adult for the first time in my life (let's just say I'm over 50) by the male attendant on duty. He was not a sullen teenager nor a summer temp, but appeared to be the adult male manager of the hotel. He was impossible to deal with upon check-in when there was a misunderstanding about our arrival date; in fact, he began yelling at my husband and me within minutes of our entering the lobby. Shouting at the top of his lungs, he suggested we phone Super 8's customer sevice since he would not even attempt to figure out the mix-up. When my husband suggested that we start over in a more reasonable manner, the proprietor turned out the lights of the office and REFUSED to let us check into the room we had reserved via the hotel's web site. Please do yourself a favor and stay ANYWHERE else in Athens or drive to a nearby town. No paying customer needs to be subjected to such outlandish treatment.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    146
    82
    43
    62
See reviews for
209
86
54
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

The staff is not well mannered. We were seating and having breakfast provided by super 8. The staff came to the hall and never wished or asked whether we are finished and started closing and packing everything.

Its a small issue but speaks a lot about their attitude.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

My parents stayed there while visiting me last year. The manager was extremely rude. When my father requested an itemized bill, he was refused. When I asked, later, for a copy for my father's records, the manager called my parents liars (my mother hadn't spoken in 4 years), and again refused one.
I contacted Super 8 Motels. They apologized for the treatment, and gave my father a refund.
As a former service professional, and long time Athens resident, I recommend staying anywhere but Super 8 Athens. Athens is far friendlier than that experience might lead one to believe.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank cycleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2006

It is the only mid-priced place to stay in Athens,Ohio. Which leads me to believe they survive on lack of competition. The folks that manage this place are extremely rude and unpleasant to deal with. They make their dollar hollar...cheap brakfast, do not refill shampoo until the one that you leave in the shower is empty. They turn off the power in your room when you leave, so you come back to a room that is too cold or hot (depending upon the ambient temperature). In summary they are very tight fisted. They do however keep the place clean. In summer they keep their customers on the ground floors until they are full....to save energy. This is fine but they will put you in a handicapped room to fill up the first floor before they put you in a second floor room. The opposite applies in the winter they keep the top floor full, and the first floor vacant whenever possible.
I have stayed at this motel for probably 20 days or more in the past 9 months ending May 18, 2006.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
466 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
4.7 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Athens

Property: Super 8 Athens
Address: 2091 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Super Eight
Athens Super 8
Super Eight Athens
Super 8 Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing