We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Days Inn Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Athens
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Athens
COLUMBUS
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved that I could park right in front of my room and it opened to the outside. This is important to me as I have a back problem and it was easy to unload and load my luggage. Most hotels make you walk down long hallways or up the stairs and elevators and they are closed off to the outside and fresh air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank MILLY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    91
    81
    68
See reviews for
159
54
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CINCINNATI
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hotel entrance very difficult to find. Beds were horrible. Shower didn't drain well so we had to stand in a couple inches of water. Gross!





  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank HANNON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Motel was average, but fairly old. Promised a cot in room for third person, but was never delivered. Motel will not give receipt at check at if booked on-line via booking agency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The property is out of the way, the rooms have a terrible odor, the service is dismal, and you will not get what you order! Booked a room over a month prior to stay only to be told upon check in that they no longer had rooms available and they tried to give me double bed instead of a king--with no refund or apology. First, it took about 20 minutes for the front desk clerk to even acknowledge that we were waiting to check in. Then, we find out that we do not have the room we ordered. When I asked for a refund they refused. Would not let me talk to management. Said that we were "out of luck" there was "nothing we can do" and that I would have no bed for the night. The desk clerk continuously called her manager and would walk to the back room to speak to him, but when we asked to talk to him her response was that he was "on vacation" and "unable to take any calls"

I decided to check out the room they could provide only to discover it was dirty, smelly, and substandard. I had to leave the hotel because my group would not fit in the alternate room. I would not have wanted to stay in this room even if it had the correct size bed, because of the filth and terrible customer service provided.

Management would not respond to any inquiries. After placing several calls to the Days Inn Athens and corporate, we still have heard no apologies and have been offered zero options to make the situation right. The only solution that the front desk clerk had was to reserve another room for an additional $180 and forfeit the money I had already been charged for the room they could not provide me. How is that a solution? Why would I pay them for services I dd not receive? And why could they not provide me with the king bed room that I reserved? Why would I have to pay twice?

Use extreme caution if booking this place. It is the worst hotel I have ever experienced in my life!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Property is in the boonies, opposite an automotive business . . . not a good sign. There was a distinct smell of sewerage, and a "stream" nearby.

Room was not clean . . . hairs in the bathroom, dust lining the edges of the carpeting, mirror streaky. There were a mis-matched micro and fridge, a modest-sized wall-mounted flat-screen t.v., and a table and ONE chair. The tissues box was virtually empty. The drinking glasses (2) were not wrapped. The bathroom fan/light sounded like a plane taking off . . . all the time. Towels were VERY worn -- need to be replaced.

Thankfully, the bedding was clean; and the spread and carpeting appeared to be fairly new. And the WiFi connection was strong and speedy.

The exercise room (a former hotel room) was a rather appealing surprise; but the equipment (treadmill and elliptical) were substandard (like $200 new).

While the premises were picked up and mowed, the outside stairs' treads were in need of sweeping and a coat of paint. In addition, the outside waste containers were filthy and full-to-overflowing when we arrived at 6 p.m. and still had not been emptied when we left at 10 a.m. the next day.

The hotel's photos of the breakfast area are misleading. The two tables shown are the ONLY tables and the L-shaped area for displaying the breakfast fare was crowded. In addition, this cramped area is a mere five feet away from the front desk. We skipped our "free" breakfast -- which doesn't start until 9 a.m. -- and went elsewhere.

Premises is a very dated, two-story hotel with no elevator and outside stairs -- definitely not "ideal accommodations" as their website states.

One last thing -- the room charge automatically includes a charge for use of an in-room safe. It is the guest's responsibility to request that this charge be removed from the bill upon checkout.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers-R-US-246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
2.9 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Athens

Property: Days Inn Athens
Address: 330 Columbus Rd, Athens, OH 45701-1336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn has complimentary breakfast, wifi, HBO, Fitness center, truck and bus parking, newly renovated rooms. Rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, television, safe, iron, hair dryer, and much more! We also are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Days Inn
Days Inn Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing