We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned, but Good Seafood”

Hil Mak's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Ashtabula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Akron
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned, but Good Seafood”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

An odd building with one dining room. A great selection of seafood on a chalkboard plus a full menu to choose from. Nice inexpensive drinkable wine to go with the fish.
I had Mahi, grilled and not overcooked. It was great, except I didn't need the large amount of butter it was cooked in.
Good service although 2 servers for a whole room made it a bit slow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty sea food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Locally owned by nice, friendly people. Accurate description of the food and made to specific taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVS641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food with limited atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have been at this restaurant many times. Owner is the cook. Fish is the freshes. Servers have been their a while as well. That tells you a lot about how the local restaurant treats it's employees. Try it it is very good. Do not expect dim lights and atmosphere. Just great food especially fish

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhausman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best seafood in NE Ohio. Fish is perfectly cooked. Delicious chowders. Service is ok. Atmosphere is ok.
Wish they did carry out dinners.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyLouOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmaki, Owner at Hil Mak's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I just wanted to clarify one thing - we do in fact offer carry out. You are welcome to order anything that is on our menu for carry out. However, we do not offer any sort of delivery.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food good - parking lot treacherous”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Recently had dinner with my sister at Hil Mak's and have been there many times before. Enjoyed my dinner - beer battered halibut - super fish and sides. However, the parking lot was a sheet of ice.. Need to make sure the customer doesn't break a leg/hip on the way to or from dinner by spending a bit of money and effort to make the parking lot safe in bad weather. Will definitely not be back in the winter time til this problem is addressed. Too bad since the food and service are solid and consistently good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3432cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hil Mak's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hil Mak's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing