We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fast becoming a favorite”

Briquettes Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Ashtabula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We combine a retro style operation with a contemporary atmosphere to provide you with the most authentic southern style BBQ and a fun-filled experience.
Ashtabula OH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fast becoming a favorite”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The whole town is talking about this new BBQ place. Everything I have tried is A#1. Food is wonderful and prices are great. Located in an historic building by the lift bridge makes it a fun environment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    50
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
“Unique little joint with wonderful food!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband Paul & I travel from Mentor at least once a month to dine at this charming little restaurant! We love the food (The Brunswick Stew is to die for!), the beer selection is excellent and the staff is super friendly and accomodating! This place is a labor of love and it shows thru in their food!
~ Carolyn from Mentor

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We live in the area and often stop here for lunch. Although our favorite dish is the pulled pork sandwich, today I had the pulled pork/chopped chicken combo and that too was delicious. The pork is so tender and juicy with a lovely smoked flavor. I love the sweet BBQ sauce and have also tried the maple mustard which is very good. They now offer a good selection of micro brews which is a nice addition to the menu. The sides are always good. We've had BBQ in Texas and North Carolina, but this is still my favorite. The prices are reasonable and the service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise for Lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I were exploring the Lake Erie shore and wandered into Ashtabula a short time before lunch. After a brief sightseeing (very brief, there is not much to see and the local museum was closed) we wandered downtown to find lunch. We were pointed to Briquettes by a local pub's bartender as a good spot to find lunch and he was so right. I had the Brunswick Stew and it was very hardy and flavorful as advertised. The pulled pork was good and my wife said her Beef Brisket Salad was great and the brisket had a distinct smoke ring and flavor. The side of Mac and Cheese was a pleasant surprise as well. On top of all this the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwellinghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We rode by here a few months ago and this time, we decided to stop! So glad we did! The good was very good! I had the two meat combo, but opted for the brisket instead of the chicken. It also came with pulled pork! Both meats were tender and flavorful, with a great hint of smokiness at the end! My plate also came with potato salad, which was good and beans. The jalapeno cornbread was most awesome! Didn't even use the butter! We tried the sweet and tangy sauce and it was very good as well. Our friends had the bbq nachos and salads topped with pulled pork and both enjoyed their food very much. We would definitely stop at this great little place again if/when we are in the area again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyLimeLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briquettes Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Briquettes Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing