We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of College House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
College House B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

I visited a contract research organization nearby, and was convinced by a QA advisor to get to this B&B (you may know these guys, they have very high expectations :) ). Details: Super clean, all the needies that you want to have in your bathroom (face cleaning liquid soap, mouth wash, dental floss, creams, nail clipper, 3 different tooth paste + 3 soap brands; + liquid soap + shampoo + conditioner, etc.). An incredibly soft and fluffly bathrobe with a very nice smell; comfortable rooms, each different but all beautifully designed; wireless internet that works like the cable at home; heated tile floor in the bathroom. Great shower and bath tub. Comfortable temperature in the room and in the house. The owners are very nice and friendly people. Space to work and relax comfortably in the room and outside of it. Now, the outstanding: The best breakfast that I had in my life. Simply divine. See my photo, it's bad since I took it with the mobile phone but you'll get an idea.
A minus: people on a diet will feel tortured, I would suggest them to come this place to have a wonderful diet break.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABK_ABK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the College House B&B on September 26, 2009. We were in town for a wedding. The inkeepers, Kathy and Joe, were very friendly and did a great job of explaining all amenities. Our room, the Music Room, was spacious and had a huge, wonderful bed and great bathroom with a jetted tub and heated tile floors. There were a number of interesting things to look at in the room and throughout the B&B. Even though there were lots of small items, everything was meticulously clean. Water pressure and heat were great. I have a hard time sleeping without some background noise and usually travel with a fan but I did not need one here - they had one in the room already. They also provided a basket with everything a traveller may have forgotten from home.

Breakfast was excellent and special - not just eggs and bacon. We were served strawberries and cream, sausage in puff pastry and eggs. The coffee was also remarkably good, which is important to me. Kathy served our breakfast early on Sunday morning, as we requested, without any problem.

This B&B had everything a traveller could need. We will stay again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadappleOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Ashland Ohio to visit family and I decided to try a B&B instead of the usual boring hotel. He was a little apprehensive, but one look at our wonderful room and we were both all smiles. It was immaculate, large, and had a a wonderful bed. The highlight though were the owners Joe and Kathy, and the amazing breakfasts. I love to cook and will try anything..but Kathy's creations were wonderful. We stayed for 8 nights and never had the same breakfast twice. There was fresh fruit daily and fabulous hot dishes. AND the morning we left she gave me a cook book with her anazing receipes. We feel like we have a new home away from home to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zodiephoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

From the "towel elephants" on the kids' beds, to the tiny gold cord tied around the bath bat, the attention to details here cannot be overlooked. The art room is up in the attic - crazy angles, crazy colors, all working in perfect harmony for 4 6' tall people! Unique, whimsical, restful, fun all describe our experience.

Kathy and Joe have even thought of local , unique, Ohio souvenirs available for sale - saving me time and wondering what to get friends back home.

The table setting for breakfast changes daily, the coffee beans are roasted on site. The food is delicious and displayed most tantalizingly. The children are not Screen Actors Guild members, but real children - totally adorable and well behaved.

I can't say that we get to Ashland often, but the College House B & B will be "our" place whenever we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We recently took our oldest daughter to Ashland University and of course, stayed with Kathy, Joe and family at the College House B & B. It was a time of mixed emotions for us. Kathy stepped right up to the plate as usual. Our rooms were ready and inviting with all of those special little touches (little toffee bits candies, and an elephant fashioned out of wash cloths greeting my younger daughter on her bed) that make a guest feel right at home. Our schedule was hectic and again, Kathy made every accomodation with early breakfasts that got us out on time but never compromising on quality. This place is a gem among gems. All of the elegance that B&Bs are noted for with a homelike, comfortable atmosphere that always makes you feel comfortable and special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookmaster1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

After our first visit we had already booked for the following year (2008). Once again, the breakfasts were awesome! And while we didn't request it, Kathy was more than willing to accomodate our new "diet restrictions". We ate 3 filling breakfasts and LOVED it! Our room (Music Department) was perfect for the two of us and again the soaking tub was awesome!
We made our reservations for next year (2009) and are already looking forward to trip.
Thanks again for a great vacation from our busy life!

  • Liked — Their willingness to be accommodating & Special attention to details
  • Disliked — Too few nights there:)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonticelloFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phignewton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

The College B&B was a nice alternative to local chain hotels--since you're going to be spending about the same amount of money anyway, you might as well spend it in a cozy environment.

The overall B&B was very well-kept, clean and had many updated conveniences including flat-screen TV/DVD player, heated bathroom floor and over-sized whirlpool tub. The furniture was more antique-looking, but comfortable (it added to the homey-feel).

The breakfast was excellent--gourmet even. Kathy does a great job in catering to the requests of her guests. If you want something specific, be sure to ask. She and her husband are very friendly and accommodating.

If I happen to be in the area again, I will be sure to come back.

  • Liked — Personal Attention
  • Disliked — Sometimes I could hear the owners' children--but not much.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phignewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield Conference Center
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
15.3 mi away
Towne Place Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College House B&B

Property: College House B&B
Address: 134 College Ave, Ashland, OH 44805-3912
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable four room bed and breakfast centrally located in Ashland, Ohio between Ashland University and Ashland Theological Seminary. Flat screen TV's with hi def cable boxes, private en suite bathrooms, jetted tubs, heated tile floors, fitness room, wifi, filling homemade breakfasts, family friendly relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
College House B&B Ashland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing