We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs major overhaul”
Review of Surrey Inn Hotel

Surrey Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surrey Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashland
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs major overhaul”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for years and loved it until a few years ago when the new owners took over. They are unfriendly and have let the hotel got to crap. The breakfast is a joke and unsanitary, the beds and bed linens are years old and stained and dirty, the chairs in the room were VERY stained and disgusting. They need thrown out and all new bought. The towels need thrown out and all new bought too. Thin, scratchy and most stained. They have no tissues in the rooms. Just a real shame how they've let it run down. It used to be so nice. Will not stay again unless they do a major overhaul!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bondgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Surrey Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Surrey Inn Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I appreciate your calling it to our attention that the facility is not as good as it was with former owners. Hopefully this will be remedied.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• New owners were approached about the condition of the towels and sheets and they immediately took action to have them replaced.

I hope that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at Surrey Inn Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
5
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for my sons graduation, I found the hotel very good value and we had a pleasant stay. It does seem a little dated on appearance however the room was very clean and everything was in good working order. Breakfast was not worth talking about but still a basic meal if you require. The staff were friendly :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The front desk service guy acted like we were inconviencing him. We had a smoking room and asked for an ashtray, a box of kleenex and a guide for the tv. After 40 minutes I called the front desk, and he said he would be there in a few minutes. He came with 1 ashtray. He told us to leave the window open to let the smoke out. There were no screens on the windows. We never got the box of kleenex or the tv guide. He didn't even know what we were talking about when we asked about them. The room itself was ok, but for the money we paid the service was bad. We checked out at 6 am on Sunday moring because we had a 12 hour drive home. When I got to the front desk, there was no one around. I rang the bell for service, and the same guy came out of the first room. It was very obivious that I had woke him up. Guess I'm not used to staying in a place where there isn't someone on duty 24 hours a day. Overall, wouldn't stay here again unless it was the very last resort!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The stay at Surrey Inn was decent. It seemed to be run by a family who took turns at the desk. They were a bit hard to understand at times, but were friendly. The rooms were clean, but I could have done without the room deodorizor. It seemed funny to stay at a place that still used room keys, but they work. The little basket in the room for "tips" brought snickers from several guests. The breakfast was minimal. There was no water to make the oatmeal, one type of coffee, one kind of bread for toast (same loaf all three mornings), one type of peanut butter (large jar that everyone dug into), no fruit, no hot chocolate. They rooms were quiet and had new flat screen tvs in them. It was okay and beat competitors pricing, just don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel was nice. Large clean rooms Very close to Ashland University - we walked to the campus! The breakfast wasn't great, just boxes of cereal, coffe some packaged muffins. It had a nice open space in the lobby with a fireplace - although it wasn't lit when we were there. The biggest drawback would be the bar that is attached. Although we didn't hear anything from the bar, they did take up alot of the parking available for the guests staying there. We will be staying there a few more times this year as our daughter is graduating in the spring. Wish we had found it a few years ago!

Room Tip: We did hear a few noises from the upstairs guests - but nothing too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayneht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at the Surrey Inn one night when we needed to arrive in Ashland a day early due to bad weather. It is an older, family-owned motel. Our room was clean and quiet and some updating had been done but it was still showing its age. The heating system was a real negative...not able to get it to a comfortable temp...and the bathroom had no heating at all...brrrrr! The family is not very friendly and could use some lessons in customer service although they took care of our needs, I felt like I was putting them out. Breakfast was very basic and nothing to get excited about, basically cold cereal and prepackaged muffins. Pretty much what you would get at the less expensive motels that offer anything for breakfast. My husband can't eat breads so there was nothing for him to eat.
We are returning the the area twice over the next few months and a positive to returning to this hotel is that 1. We know what we are getting 2.They do after weekly rates that are very very reasonable. The daily rates are a bit more than we would prefer, but we at least know what we are getting and it is convenient to the university which is important to us. Definitely not a motel for those who are super picky, and need to newest accommodations. You won't find that here, but it met our basic needs.
There is a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel but we did not try it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathysue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surreyinnashlandoh, Webmaster at Surrey Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Surrey Inn Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that our location is convenient to the university which is good for you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the heat and instructed to see what they could do to eliminate it.

• The family which owns the motel, received additional instruction concerning the courteous, helpful, respectful way in which they are expected to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Surrey Inn Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Another review said the previous owners had good customer service, but not in my book.

20 of us lived here for two weeks and it was awful. Breakfast was always sparse and unsanitary with milk left out for hours and returned to sit for hours the next day; desk staff was always disinterested, remote and unhelpful. Several times we came and went as the clerk on duty -- the only employee on duty -- was sleeping on the sofa in the lobby.

The maids were wonderfully friendly and helpful, but the quality of the linens was poor at best, the furniture and carpets badly needed updating, the A/C was unreliable, and the Internet only worked in the lobby, intermittently. Towels are thin, scratchy and often stained, bed was sagging in every room we had. We were also quoted one price and paid another at check-out; it was far more expensive than our coordinator had negotiated and we got nowhere on checkout with getting the rate she'd confirmed.

The location is the only thing to recommend - close to campus and with a bar next door.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value & service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HoundSitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surreyinnashlandoh, Webmaster at Surrey Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Surrey Inn Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you found the location to be a good one for you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance was informed of the problems you experience with the A/C’s and the internet and instructed to see to their repair.

2) Desk staff received additional instruction concerning the courteous, helpful, respectful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests. They were instructed that sleeping on the sofa in the lobby while working is not appropriate.

3) The maids were commended upon the courteous, friendly way in which they treated our valued guests.

4) Registration staff received additional instruction in properly registering our valued guests so that the amounts are not changed.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Surrey Inn Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased,.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ashland
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Mansfield
121 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
3.4 mi away
Motel 6 Ashland
Motel 6 Ashland
#5 of 6 in Ashland
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Inn Hotel

Property: Surrey Inn Hotel
Address: 1065 Claremont Ave, Ashland, OH 44805-3740
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surrey Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Surrey Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Inn Hotel Ashland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing