We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice remodeled hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very nice remodeled hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Ashland OH last week. The hotel has been recently updated it appears. The furniture, carpet, and bathroom accessories were all new. The room was spotless. Very nice flat screen tv, working desk, lounge chair. Hotel has indoor pool, but no time to use it. Breakfast is included with room, but some items on buffet needed to be heated up more first. Their cinnamon rolls are awesome! Plenty of parking and a few fast food joints close by, as well as gas station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
21
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I'm not very familiar with the area and only spent one night here. But it is a very nice clean hotel. No complaints at all. I stayed in a king suite. Which had all the ammenities you come to expect. Staff was helpful and friendly. I'm not sure when this was built but seems fairly new. And is nicely decorated.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stay here quite often. In fact more than 30 nights last year. While it is not fancy, I think it is a good value for what you get. The staff is friendly and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Since my last review in 2010, I have had to stay at this hotel several times (again, there are few other decent nearby alternatives unless you want to stay in Mansfield (south of Ashland) or Seville (North of Ashland) each by about 20 minutes). The hotel has had some renovations the past year - new carpet, TVs, showers, some fixtures. Also, in the past 6 months, I have noticed that the rooms are cleaner. With these updates and changes, it is a much nicer place to stay. However, the room rate of approximately $125 with taxes is still very high for the area and the hotel needs to replace the mattresses and bed linens. Each room I have stayed in has a terrible mattress and worn bed linen (Clean, but worn). Updating these two major issues would go a long way in improving this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if you can upgraded to a suite at the same rate. The suites are not really much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I reviewed this property in Jan 2011 and did not have much good to say. I've stayed there again this week and wanted to update my review. The property is in much better condition at this time. It appears that the active construction/remodeling has been completed. The facilities are still not what you might expect from a newer Holiday Inn Express (worn carpet in the room, drains were very slow or partially clogged, hot water took a long time, you could smell smoke in the bathroom of a non-smoking room). They also were having issues with their "water-pipe system" which set off a shrill alarm at 2:30 am and then again 10 minutes later. My colleague said the same thing happened to him at the hotel the previous week, so this seems to be a challenge for them. All told though, not a bad two night stay this time around. The desk staff was polite and accommodating, the free breakfast was edible and most everything was in working order.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfish539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

we wanted to go to this hotel to swim and relax in the spa. a nice getaway with the kids. i went on their website and looked at the pictures of the pool and spa and they were nice, so i booked a room. got there and went to the pool area, walked in and no spa. i was like where's the spa. i asked what happened to the spa and the front desk lady told me they got rid of it about 2 years ago. i was very dissappointed to hear that it has been 2 years and no new pictures on the internet. and in our room, there was no fridge. come on, i paid 100.00 for a room with no fridge? isn't that standard anymore these days? i feel like i got riped off. i guess i expected what i saw in the pictures and didn't get it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djjjchurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is nice, we have stayed at much nicer Holiday Inn Express' in the past, this was acceptable, Air conditioner sounded like a garbage truck each time it came on. Room temperature was inconsistent. Elevator and stairs were closed at the end of the hall where our room was, but only the stairs were marked closd so we waited forever for the elevator for nothing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john20113333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ashland
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
44 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Mansfield
115 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Surrey Inn Hotel
Surrey Inn Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ashland
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Address: 1392 Township Road 743, Ashland, OH 44805-8926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland, OH is conveniently located 1/4 mile W. of I-71 on US Route 250 (exit 186). The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland, OH has 4 floors & 89 guest rooms (23 suites, most featuring hot tubs) all equipped with free high speed internet access. Only minutes from Ashland University and the downtown area. Walking distance to McDonald's and Wendy's restaurants; four full-service restaurants within 1 mile. Indoor Pool/Exercise Facility/Game Room open 5:30am to 11:00pm. Express Start Breakfast Bar available 6:30am to 9:30am. On-site guest laundry facility. 3500 sq. feet of meeting & banquet space with planning assistance. Visit Ashland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Hotel Ashland
Holiday Inn Ashland
Ashland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing