We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely mixed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
too far from the wild west!
Level Contributor
330 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“definitely mixed”
Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is a pretty property, fairly good location in terms of proximity to sites. Each room seems comfortable, and for the MOST part private.... Just be aware and prepared: the hosts are very friendly, and one is VERY opinionated....

  • Liked — Breakfast was delicious
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocker_rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Although we were the only guests there, we got put in the wrong room (not the one we had booked). The owners corrected the situation, though, to our satisfaction. Sally ate breakfast with us and hogged the conversation. It would have been nice to have some alone time with my hubby!! She was also very forgetful, having to ask us our preferences several times. Overall, it was a nice stay, and we are planning to visit there again soon.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — not very private; on a busy street corner
  • Tips/Secrets — be the first one to book that night so you get to choose the breakfast meal! (although you might have to remind her what you chose!)
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MommaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night at Sally and Bill's beautiful bed and breakfast. What a relaxing and wonderful treat ! The Inn itself is full of interesting antiques and furniture, artwork on the floors and walls and everything so well done !! Our room , the Garden suite was really lovely and full of objects of art, flowers, beautiful linens and furniture. Our room looked out into a lovely pastoral scene of rustic Ohio. Barn and all !!
Bill and Sally are just so hospitable and our breakfast was outstanding.
I really wished we did not have to leave and hope, Lord willing to return !!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2004

We stayed here two night, June 24 & 25, 2004. This was our second stay, as we had stayed there in August 2000.
The Winfield is a wonderful property - immaculately maintained - beautiful to look at.
The Innkeepers (Sally and Bill) have a penchant for detail. She provides a wonderful fruit tray on arrival, and there are chocolates on your pillow each night.
They have excellent ideas for day trips, and lots of suggestions for local restaurants.
The breakfasts are amazing - my wife says she'll never make quiche again, as it won't compare to Sally's.
All in all a top notch stay, and at a very reasonable price.
If you're planning a trip to Ohio Amish country, or any other "Ohio Countryside" vacation, this is an excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2003

This century home has been remodeled with the inkeeper's exacting touch. A free-lance commercial artist, Bill has a penchant for detail and the skills to bring it off. Sally is an extraordinarily imaginitive cook who prepares sumptuous breakfasts you eat at their well-set table. The suite, originally intended as the innkeepers' residence has a private entrance, a gas fireplace, and a marvelously high colonial four-poster bed. The appointments are comfy and cozy, with multi-paned windows surrounding the living room on three sides. Additional bedrooms with baths "en suite" are upstairs are equally well appointed and private. You cannot go wrong at the relaxing Winfield. Spend a night and you will want to stay on and on.

Helpful?
Thank Bergle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ashland
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
2.9 mi away
Surrey Inn Hotel
Surrey Inn Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ashland
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winfield Bed and Breakfast

Property: Winfield Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1568 State Route 60, Ashland, OH 44805-9370
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Winfield Bed And Breakfast Ashland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing