We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Winfield Bed and Breakfast:Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Winfield Bed and Breakfast:Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 22, 2008

The Winfield Bed and Breakfast, located in Ashland, Ohio is a beautiful and relaxing place to escape for a weekend get away, an overnight while traveling through the area or a vacation.
Upon arrival, you are treated to a fresh fruit and cheese tray to enjoy. The suite and rooms are elegantly decorated in a quiet
setting with complete privacy.
The breakfasts are incredible, including such comfort dishes as Eggs Goldenrod, Stuffed French Toast, Banana Pecan Pancakes or Quiche Lorraine.
The hosts at the Winfield are extremely friendly and accomodating. If you are looking for inviting and comfortable surroundings, you will thoroughly enjoy your stay at the Winfield Bed and Breakfast.

  • Liked — friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tutor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Our stay at the Winfield was lovely, inspirational and unexpectedly delightful. This home, built in 1847, has been restored with impeccable contemporary style and infinite attention to detail. The online virtual tours, as lovely as they are, lack the ambiance experienced upon a personal tour. Upon arrival, my husband and I were greeted by not one, but both owners. Quite often we've stayed at B&B's where the wife seems to be the only visible keeper, however, we felt especially welcomed when Bill and Sally welcomed us together. After we were welcomed Bill gave us a very informative, personal tour of the kitchen, refrigerator FULL of every healthy beverage imaginable, mini-snack bar that were available to us. Sally offered to deliver a fruit and cheese plate to our room, at a time we desired. We were then given a tour of the home decorated in an elegant contemporary style, reminiscent of photos similar those in Architectural Digest. Being a graduate of design college and a former remodeling subcontractor, my husband and I were very impressed with the home itself. The bookshelves are LOADED with books on art, spirituality, architecture, history, astronomy, and the like. We wanted to move right in! The DVDs available are classics, inspirational, comedies and documentaries of which we chose 2. After we settled in, our time with Bill and Sally was so enjoyable, we felt like we made new friends, and enjoyed a quiet evening of conversation on the lovely landscaped patio. With a certification in marriage dynamics, my husband and I felt we were in the home of a loving couple who, being married for nearly 45 years, has chosen to share the fruits of their loving commitment with other. Much like Bill's artistic ability to decorate, Sally's 'palette' is her delicious breakfast set at a seasonally decorated table, with soft background music. Sally was sensitive to portions of those of us who were dieting as well. Plain and simple, Bill and Sally have a gift of hospitality that seems almost supernatural. We will definitely be back. Well worth the money.

  • Liked — Hospitality, ambiance, location, artistic style
  • Disliked — I don't get to live there
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmneuhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
too far from the wild west!
Level Contributor
330 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is a pretty property, fairly good location in terms of proximity to sites. Each room seems comfortable, and for the MOST part private.... Just be aware and prepared: the hosts are very friendly, and one is VERY opinionated....

  • Liked — Breakfast was delicious
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocker_rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Although we were the only guests there, we got put in the wrong room (not the one we had booked). The owners corrected the situation, though, to our satisfaction. Sally ate breakfast with us and hogged the conversation. It would have been nice to have some alone time with my hubby!! She was also very forgetful, having to ask us our preferences several times. Overall, it was a nice stay, and we are planning to visit there again soon.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — not very private; on a busy street corner
  • Tips/Secrets — be the first one to book that night so you get to choose the breakfast meal! (although you might have to remind her what you chose!)
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MommaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night at Sally and Bill's beautiful bed and breakfast. What a relaxing and wonderful treat ! The Inn itself is full of interesting antiques and furniture, artwork on the floors and walls and everything so well done !! Our room , the Garden suite was really lovely and full of objects of art, flowers, beautiful linens and furniture. Our room looked out into a lovely pastoral scene of rustic Ohio. Barn and all !!
Bill and Sally are just so hospitable and our breakfast was outstanding.
I really wished we did not have to leave and hope, Lord willing to return !!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2004

We stayed here two night, June 24 & 25, 2004. This was our second stay, as we had stayed there in August 2000.
The Winfield is a wonderful property - immaculately maintained - beautiful to look at.
The Innkeepers (Sally and Bill) have a penchant for detail. She provides a wonderful fruit tray on arrival, and there are chocolates on your pillow each night.
They have excellent ideas for day trips, and lots of suggestions for local restaurants.
The breakfasts are amazing - my wife says she'll never make quiche again, as it won't compare to Sally's.
All in all a top notch stay, and at a very reasonable price.
If you're planning a trip to Ohio Amish country, or any other "Ohio Countryside" vacation, this is an excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2003

This century home has been remodeled with the inkeeper's exacting touch. A free-lance commercial artist, Bill has a penchant for detail and the skills to bring it off. Sally is an extraordinarily imaginitive cook who prepares sumptuous breakfasts you eat at their well-set table. The suite, originally intended as the innkeepers' residence has a private entrance, a gas fireplace, and a marvelously high colonial four-poster bed. The appointments are comfy and cozy, with multi-paned windows surrounding the living room on three sides. Additional bedrooms with baths "en suite" are upstairs are equally well appointed and private. You cannot go wrong at the relaxing Winfield. Spend a night and you will want to stay on and on.

Helpful?
Thank Bergle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
15.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winfield Bed and Breakfast

Property: Winfield Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1568 State Route 60, Ashland, OH 44805-9370
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Winfield Bed And Breakfast Ashland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing