We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...except Mary Anns cabin...sourpuss”
Review of Sauder Village

Sauder Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Archbold
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sauder Village is Ohio's Largest living history destination with costumed guides in historic homes and shops in a walk through time experience from 1803 - 1920's Talented artisans and craftsman blending skill and creativity in fiber, wood, glass and clay. Stay at the Sauder Heritage Inn or Campground and enjoy a delicious meal at the Barn Restaurant and homemade backed goods a the Doughbox Bakery. The Historic Village is open seasonally from late April to late October.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful...except Mary Anns cabin...sourpuss”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We happened to visit Sauder today 5/16/14 which was a huge school field trip day. I took my boys over to Mary Anns cabin..which is an adorable area made for small children of which 2 of my 4 kids are. Well.."Mary Ann" storms out of her cabin spouting something about field trip children and that we weren't allowed in there. Excuse me? We are a private family and I was only taking pics anyway! She never apologized and was TERRIBLY RUDE! She practically barked at my kids. One of my twins said as we were leaving.."that was GREAT..except for the mean old lady!" Mary Ann is an old sourpuss! I TOTALLY recommend the rest of the place...its AWESOME! Our favorite thing is to visit the big turkeys..oh and the wooden toy makers! Those guys are great!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank armourh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    47
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Archbold, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Any age will enjoy”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The village brings early farm life alive in many ways. Children will enjoy the animals and hand-on activities. Adults like the old-time buildings with activities reminding them of early years on the farm, whether they have experienced them or not. Shopping is varied and fun; eating even better as there's a sandwich/soup cafeteria or a full sit down meal in the Barn. Plan to spend most of a day as there is so much to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cometblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Solon, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Quaint Crafting Village”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We found out about this attraction by accident, but it proved to be one of the nicer stops on our trip. While not a traditional reconstructed village, this attraction is more of a fictional crafting village created by the founder of Sauder Woodworking. It was laid out beautifully and all the craftspeople and interpreters were very professional and friendly. Demonstrations and talks were available in almost every one of the small buildings the day we visited. The "museum" on site was basically a large warehouse with isles of different pieces of equipment and antiques. We wanted to compare this to Colonial Williamsburg but of a different time period. An enjoyable time and will stop there again to see some of the things we missed the next time we visit the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was great and the atmosphere was great. We had buffet lunch and everything tasted great. The staff was very friendly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Educational & Fun!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a lot of fun learning about history, which is great for kids to have the opportunity to actually see how people lived before there were iPads and DSLs. Kids are encouraged to ask questions and participate. Would definitely recommend. And if time allows, head to mom's diner for a great 50's type atmosphere, hamburgers, pizza and some darn good onion rings!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel4funwithmyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sauder Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing