We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A walk back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sauder Village

Sauder Village
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Archbold
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sauder Village is Ohio's Largest living history destination with costumed guides in historic homes and shops in a walk through time experience from 1803 - 1920's Talented artisans and craftsman blending skill and creativity in fiber, wood, glass and clay. Stay at the Sauder Heritage Inn or Campground and enjoy a delicious meal at the Barn Restaurant and homemade backed goods a the Doughbox Bakery. The Historic Village is open seasonally from late April to late October.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A walk back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went here for the first time this Summer. It was a great afternoon! The kids loved learning and watching all of the hands on crafting and farming exhibits. We came home with homemade candy and soap!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meig05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    46
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids for the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I absolutely love Sauder Village. It is just a short drive from Toledo and is great fun for the kids. The hands on exhibits will keep everyone occupied (including the big kids). Lunch at the attached restaurant (I think it is called The Barn) is also excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Joy67117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, OH
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Family Day Trip - Combine Learning with Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

They take great efforts to have realistic enactments and it is very educational & interesting to see how our ancestors lived. There lots to see and do so kids can stay entertained. Do check the Village schedule before visiting however as during one season, they slaughter & roast a pig in public which may not be to everyone's viewing pleasure. The adjacent restaurant has excellent food. Well worth your time and money we have visited several times.

Helpful?
Thank MrMrsHSylvania_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getzville, Ny
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Educational and fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I didn't think I would enjoy this place as much as I did. The people explaining the history of their craft are wonderfully dedicated and a joy to listen to. We spent all day there because there is so much to see and learn.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Place for the family to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Sauder Village is what may be considered a small size Greenfield Village. Most of the houses and shops have been moved to the village and reconstructed in a reasonably accurate fashion. The best part of the village is the working farm area. Live animals, people dressed in the period, an interesting recreation of an old farm house and barns. This is a good place to take children to see a little history come alive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gringotraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sauder Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing