We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its ALL Good !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sal & Al's Diner

Sal & Al's Diner
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Amherst
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its ALL Good !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a family owned restaurant that takes pride in everything they make and it shows!! Soups sandwiches, dinners. The lunch specials are a great deal. The pizzas are awesome. (try the rollover for 1 person) They make the best chicken paprikash since my Grandmas!! The dumplings are freshly made every morning. And to top off the experience- ICE CREAM!! The George Family should be proud!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service; average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sal and Al's is a bit of a disappointment; the atmosphere is nice, service is great, but the food is just so-so. The soup can be great one day and average at best the next. The sandwiches are mediocre. The fries are greasy and sometimes mushy. None of the food has a lot of flavor, except for salt and/or garlic. Want to love the food, but I just don't.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheMove19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Friend give me the recommendation to stop in since I was visiting the amazing kiedrowski's bakery right next door. I had the kids with me so wanted to make sure the menu would accomodate them. I rarely visit diners but this one was clean end friendly and the menu looked vast. I am a strict eater and wasn't sure if I would find something but they had to my suprise Mediteranean food!! Being Lebanese I was excited to see this option and asked our waitress if in fact it was Syrian made and not a version of the food because as we all know you can try to replicate the food but authentic made you can't compete with. And it was! I ordered a side of tabuli and a spinach pie. Both were so good but then again it's homemade. The spinach pie was so large I only ate half and took the rest to go, the tabuli also delicious and pretty much like we make it. The kids had a cheeseburger which was cooked perfectly and chicken tenders which again looked delicious and was told were! Great find and I'm glad we stopped in. When we go to Kiedrowski's this migtbeour lunch stop again! Prices were super reasonable and service was great!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent variety. Great prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

They've an outstanding food selection. American to Lebanese/Greek(I think?). Regardless, the prices are good, the food is plentiful, tasty and fresh. I really do like the assortment of food and desserts. By all means, give it a try.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fretmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
“No Thanks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went on a Saturday for lunch. My Route 66 had three, small, about one-inch slices of steak, more peppers than you could want, some onions, and two mushrooms, over what I would call Minute Rice with a Thousand Island based sauce? My husband ordered the Diner Burger. It had two patties with Texas toast as the bun. His sandwich fell apart and crumbled before he was even half done eating it. It was served with overly greasey fries. The restaurant is very clean and clever Rock n Roll decor. However, we will not return. Two cars in the parking lot should have been our clue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal & Al's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sal & Al's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing