We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troll knowledge ”

The Troll Hole Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Troll Hole Guided Museum Tour
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Alliance
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and be amazed as you are guided through the history and folklore of trolls and troll dolls in this unique and world record holding museum! A 45 minute guided tour will fill your day with mystique and magic as you are taken through two floors, six rooms, and a troll cave complete with waterfalls and and a troll mountain. There is a DreamWorks Trolls exhibit and guest appearnces by Poppy on select days.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

This is no gimmick. These people know trolls. History, details. I was very surprised. And the biggest collection of trolls, separated by brands, genres, years, etc. Vey cool. Please note, don't bring young children here. They discuss history and there are a lot of things that shouldn't be touched. There were several very young kids on my tour who kept touching things they shouldn't and became very bored very quickly.

Thank superjill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M, Owner at The Troll Hole Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for visiting! We are a folklore and toy museum and sometimes folklore can be spooky though we try to tailor each tour per group. We like to be informative to all ages groups and we try to present the mythological aspect of trolls as well as the history of dolls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee shop"
in 6 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"shapes and sizes"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"the owner"
in 3 reviews
"chocolate"
in 7 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"hole"
in 11 reviews
"adults"
in 5 reviews
"purchase"
in 4 reviews
"movie"
in 4 reviews
"sherry"
in 3 reviews
"guinness"
in 3 reviews
"dreamworks"
in 2 reviews
"thousands"
in 2 reviews
"brand"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

What fun to revisit my youth! I was around the first time troll dolls were popular and I'm happy to see them back. I'm happy for the troll movies and would love to see the troll museum be a real success. This is one of the funnest places for kids and it's so unique. We enjoyed it very much. I hope families will come for a visit and bring all the kids for a fun time.

Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M, Owner at The Troll Hole Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you so much for coming and for your absolutely wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Very unique museum, featuring classic troll doll merchandise as well as original artwork by in-house artist David McDowell and others. They have a "troll grotto" with a life-size mock-up of a (fictional) troll living quarters! Also they have a juggler!

Thank eb0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M, Owner at The Troll Hole Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you for the great review. We are very passionate about what we do and sharing with you, Keep us in mind for your next adventure as new exhibits are under progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

We were looking for something to do on a cold, rainy day during spring break. Believe it or not, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the tour--the presenter spent over an hour with us, explaining all the history of trolls--the origin, the legends, etc. The displays were good and the size of the building from the outside is quite deceiving, as it is huge, flowing into several different rooms of different themes, including Scandinavian culture, merchandise, and trolls from every time period since the 1950ś. We have lived in Ohio most of our lives and have never heard of the museum--we just happened upon it searching online for a last-minute day trip. It was fun, educational and the staff was friendly. My daughter is in her upper teens and asked why I had never taken her there before! There is a small coffee shop with bakery inside along with (naturally) a gift shop with ample supply of trolls and troll-related goodies.

Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M, Owner at The Troll Hole Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you for the great review. Our specialty is creating wonder with each room. Keep us in mind for your next adventure as new exhibits are under progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

Great collection of everything TROLLS. The owner is very knowledgeable. The tour includes history from the old style troll under a tree, to the current Dreamworks movie. My only complaint would be the cost. $10 for adults and $6 for kids 5 and over. Seems a bit steep for what it is, unless your REALLY into Trolls.

1  Thank BIGcheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M, Manager at The Troll Hole Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

So happy to hear that you had a good time! We try to keep our prices at an average cost for museums across the United States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Troll Hole Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Troll Hole Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing