We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, easy access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel, easy access”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was an all-around good hotel for a Holiday Inn. It was very easy to access I-77 and the rest of Akron. Plenty of eating options within walking distance and a plaza across the street. The rooms were recently updated and are very comfortable. The hallways could use an update, but how much time do you spend there? There was a problem with the lock on my door so they had to move me, but gave me a free dinner for my inconvenience which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoolTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
22
10
3
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had to wait for a desk attendant to check in.They attempted to upgrade the bathroom, but the shower door only covered 1/2 of the opening so the floor got wet! And although there was a nice stone sink countertop and vessel sink, the faucet was incorrectly place resulting in the water flow hitting half an inch from edge of sink bowl. There was no way to hold a wash cloth under the running water. It was difficult to even wash your hands. The wallpaper in the main room was lifting at the edge. The breakfast was decent with real scrambled eggs but we felt uncomfortable as 2 dining room workers watched our every move as we ate since they weren't busy enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear karenvon,

Thank you for sharing your comments online. I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with our breakfast choices.

I am sorry to hear about your troubles with the bathroom amenities. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for it has negatively affected some aspects of your stay.

We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into to avoid the same situation in the future. We all hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times because the Park Grill is attached and we have dinner meetings there. Several problems, number one is the place is dated, rooms are pretty clean but then the TV didn't work and I had to change rooms to a so-so channel line-up.
Problem 2, The real problem... The first time I stayed there I booked via Holiday Inn National and got a room for $129. I just thought that was the best rate. NO! You can insist on a rate of around $89 and get it. My associates staying there paid $89. The next time I called they claimed their rate was $129... and that is because they asked for my name and then saw what I paid before.. they insisted on $129 and I told them where to put it. My associates again for the same room this trip got $89. I booked the Hampton Inn, 100 yards away and won't stay with Holiday Inn West Akron again.

Room Tip: To get a good room and a good rate I would suggest another hotel. i.e. The Hilton about 1 mile east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS34134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear JohnS34134,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are very sorry for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akron hotels

Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Two night stay with wife visiting neary family. It appeared that the facilites had gone through some sort of updating, but the udpates were not well done with new cracks showing up in ceilings that had obviously been patched and so forth. Bathroom had a modern look to it but was functionally a flop. The porcelain vessel style bowl had a giant crack in it and the shower had a stationary clear glass partition instead of a shower curtain and it only covered half of the shower, so a watery mess everywhere. And with the partition being clear, it was a little weird to watch the reflection of yourself showering in the mirror over the sink. Shower temperature was almost impossible to regulate with the sensitve handle. And then a toilet flushing either in your room or elsewhere seemed to throw the temparature into a tailspin. Mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable.

We did have a fairly decent dinner and Shaun the bartender seemed to be particularly good at not only mixing and serving drinks, but being attentive and personable.

For a business trip, I might consider this still a decent value for the room rate. But when traveling with family, I expect more. Usually Holiday Inn brand meets that expectation, but not this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownContraDad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear CrownContraDad75,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here for two night recently on business, the hotel is easy to get to and has plenty of parking. Check in was quick and easy and the rooms were nice, the only problem I had was the shower that seemed to have a very small adjustment between scorching hot and freezing cold.
Breakfast was a varied buffet but the breakfast room seemed to be very full even though the hotel had plenty of empty rooms so I think there could be problems when the hotel is full.
The best thing about this place is the staff, they are all extremely friendly and helpful, I was alone at the hotel and the bar staff especially went out of there way to make sure I was entertained. Next time I am in Akron I will stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 one-week stays, on business. The staff were cordial and professional, and seemed to be doing the best (well, almost) that they could. However, the structure is dated, the rooms were not as clean as one would expect for a Holiday Inn. The interior of the rooms have been updated, and they look ok at first glance. However, I found that the bathroom faucet was mounted to close the top edge of the vessel sink, preventing me from getting my hands all the way under the water. The faucet was loose and wobbled back and forth when activated. The beds were very hard, and the room-temperature was difficult to control due to the large, non-energy efficient sliding-glass doors. The TV and TV service was GREAT!

Unless my employer forces me to stay at this hotel in the future, I will stay else where.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioBusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear OhioBusTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy that you found our staff to be attentive to your needs. However, I would like to apologize that on this day the room you were given was not at par with what you expected. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been traveling to this area for over 16 years. I had not been to this hotel for awhile before this stay but I was impressed with the renovation that they have done. I have to say that this is the best renovation that I have seen at an older Holiday Inn property. The corporation seems to be normally dumping the older hotels for their cookie cutter HI Express, increasingly crappy, boring, hotels, so it was nice to see this one still up and kicking and looking better than ever. There is a buffet breakfast that beats the heck out of the HEI cardboard egg stuff, and the room/bathroom had been upgraded enough to be pretty darn good. Staff was pleasant as they have been for the 16 years I've been staying here. I've never seen that swimming pool they show on the site, but I seldom see the sun shine in Northern Ohio anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
1.6 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Akron Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Property: Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Address: 4073 Medina Road, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel is the place to stay when traveling to the hometown of Lebron James. Just minutes from Downtown Akron, Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens, University of Akron, Inventors Hall of Fame, Blossom Music Center, Infocision Stadium and John S. Knight Center. With convenient access to Canton and Cleveland, you can visit the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Playhouse and Warehouse Districts, and so much more! This hotel is surrounded by several excellent restaurants, shopping plazas/malls, theatres, golf courses and children's activities.The Holiday Inn Akron-West Hotel has just completed a $2 million renovation extending from our guest rooms to our meeting facilities! You will feel a sense of elegance and comfort as you enter our contemporary spacious lobby. The staff of the Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel will greet you with a friendly smile and a professional approach. The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel specializes in meetings, banquets, and conferences. This hotel features 2 restaurants the Montrose Bar & Grille as well as the award winning Hyde Park Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Hotel Akron
Akron Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing