We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Needs updating.”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

A little high in price considering the newer hotels in the area. Hallways and room walls need updating. Bedding was fresh and comfortable. Bathrooms have been updated. Desk staff was okay. We checked in after 11pm and were sent to wrong room. Our attempts to open door scared the occupant, and we exhausted had to go back to lobby in search of the right room. Think we should have had our breakfast comped for that. Think at this price and the nearby competition that the breakfast should come with the room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caymansilvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdonn75676, General Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
On behalf of the Holiday Inn Akron/West, I want to thank you for taking the time voice your concerns regarding your stay. We pride ourselves on excellent guest service, and when we fall short we need to take action. I assure you that your feedback will be used to ensure that these issuses don't happen again. Please contact me at the hotel directly, so that we may discuss these concerns in further detail.

Thank you,
Tom Donnelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
24
10
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit suburb, MI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My daughter and I had booked here through a discount travel site. They had this listed as a 3 star, not so much...its a 2 star if that, the rooms are updated but we found hair in both beds and in the bathroom. They tried to move us and out of 4 rooms all had hair on the bed. That is disgusting. We ended up getting a refund and moved on to the nicer hotel Courtyard. If cleanliness is important to you, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avacadoaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akron hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I would like to share my dislike and disappointment during my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Akron, OH (Akron-West). I am a senior Army service member and travel a lot to conduct military business in several states and choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites due to such excellent service received at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Hope Mills, NC. I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Akron, OH (Akron-West) due to that particular reason thinking that my stay would be just as pleasant considering it was a Holiday Inn. To my surprise and extreme disappointment which I will identify later in this feedback, I will never stay at this hotel again and probably will not stay at another Holiday Inn ever. If it isn’t a Holiday Inn Express & Suites, I will take my business elsewhere.
The front desk staff was not professional; they were somewhat non-attentive and did not even recognize my Platinum Priority Club status. I was not asked for it nor was any additional upgrade options offered when I presented my card to them. It was as if they were doing me a favor by checking me in and allowing me to stay at the hotel.
This hotel seemed to make a feeble attempt at trying to upgrade the guest rooms but putting minimal efforts at doing so. I have stayed at other hotels that were just as old and completed renovations to give their hotel a new facelift and the renovations done at this hotel should have been call a bandage instead of new renovations. The room amenities were outdated (i.e... TV, iron, no microwave or coffee pot). Instead of completely renovating the tub/shower combo, they chose to install a vinyl shower insert with a fixed half glass (not appealing, shottie workmanship and water sprays out of open half of fixed half door). The room reaps of oldness due to the outdated, smelly carpet. In short as I stated initially, I was extremely disappointed and will never stay at this hotel again and probably will not stay at another Holiday Inn ever.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Holiday Inn West was really just an average place to stay with an above average price. They has a 15% surcharge for the weekend, which put us at $160 for the night.
The employees were very nice. The free breakfast was pretty good. The beds were ok and the TV was older. The outdoor pool was old but it provided a nice place to hang out and relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom43302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Cuyahoga Valley National Park for our anniversary. We wanted to stay in Akron for convenience, so this hotel was a great choice. It appears to have been recently renovated. Rooms were very nice, as were the common areas like the lobby and pool area. There was plenty of parking.

The great feature of this hotel is that it's in close proximity to shopping centers and tons of restaurants. The park is not far and we even traveled up to Lake Erie on a whim.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Convenient location right off interstate and near many stores and restaurants. Despite supposed recent renovation, the hotel seems dated and tired. The lobby was okay but the rooms only average and the bathroom small. For the price, I was unimpressed. Front desk staff seemed more interested in flirting with younger guests and themselves or surfing the Internet! The breakfast buffet was limited. I would likely stay somewhere else when I am in the areas again - but then again the other nearby choices are only so-so. Odd given that this is a well-healed area of Akron.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We only stayed one night in a king standard room, but I was surprised to see how modern the hotel looked inside. It must have been recently renovated. The mattress was a little hard, but the room was very spacious! We spent some time in the bar downstairs. The bartender was very nice. They had a few seasonal brews on tap, which it always appreciate. Would definitely recommend for such a cheap price!!!

  • Liked — Price, location, modern on inside
  • Disliked — Mattress
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Akron Fairlawn
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
526 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Property: Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Address: 4073 Medina Rd, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333-2476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel is the place to stay when traveling to the hometown of Lebron James. Just minutes from Downtown Akron, Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens, University of Akron, Inventors Hall of Fame, Blossom Music Center, Infocision Stadium and John S. Knight Center. With convenient access to Canton and Cleveland, you can visit the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Playhouse and Warehouse Districts, and so much more! This hotel is surrounded by several excellent restaurants, shopping plazas/malls, theatres, golf courses and children's activities.The Holiday Inn Akron-West Hotel has just completed a $2 million renovation extending from our guest rooms to our meeting facilities! You will feel a sense of elegance and comfort as you enter our contemporary spacious lobby. The staff of the Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel will greet you with a friendly smile and a professional approach. The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel specializes in meetings, banquets, and conferences. This hotel features 2 restaurants the Montrose Bar & Grille as well as the award winning Hyde Park Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Hotel Akron
Akron Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing