We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sakura!”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #84 of 480 Restaurants in Akron
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Super Sakura!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

During a recent business trip, I visited Sakura for lunch a couple of times with my work colleagues and to be honest, I could go every day If I lived there.

Service was great - we were served by the same girl on each occasion (Loren I think) who was friendly, smiling and quite helpful with the menu items. The sushi was usually made on demand so there was a little wait but it was always worth it. I've never really been to a decent Sushi place in the UK - usually it's those conveyor belt places like Yo Sushi or the sushi place at Heathrow airport (T5) but the sushi from here was always tasty and fresh. The only issue is that I could have eaten more, it's not quite as filling as say a Mexican lunch meal or one gigantic subs from a nearby deli but it was definitely my favourite of all the places we visited for lunch.

Prices were good, especially if you took advantage of the lunchtime specials and that, along with the excellent food and good service put this top of my list for lunch around Fairlawn.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ranked# 4 really? Maybe 1 year ago”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Used to be men and my family's favorite place. Key word used to be. We were regulars once a week and sometimes carry out n top of that. Service has always been average but the rolls and sushi always made up for it. Also the plating was gorgeous made us feel very special and worth the 80$ we spent on rolled up rice and seafood. But after several times of fishy tasting rolls and several trips to the bathroom after we stopped going. We loved this place but got sick several times and just doesn't taste fresh anymore, typical sushi story. Gave it two more try's but still poor,quality.m must take off 4 bad perception of Akron,right now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never disappointed with food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i have always been pleased with the food on every visit here food is good place is kept clean and service is always good For something different this is a good place to try

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank diamondedge3forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The best tempura shrimp maki I have had anywhere.
Their eel sauce is soooooooo good.
Service is always good.
Their spicy salad and green salad dressings are SOOO tasty.
We have never had a bad experience here, and we have been regular customers for five years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pointsmideast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are kind of disappointed, was expecting real Japanese food. The soup base on the udon was tasteless and full of msg, teriyaki was too sweet, the rolls taste okay but lack of attention to details, shouldn't fall apart when pickup with chopsticks and the cut were so uneven. Been to many Japanese restaurant before all over. I prefer the ones owed and prepare by Japanese.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing