We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One great thing about Ohio!!!”

Swensons North Akron Drive-In Restaurants
Ranked #1 of 473 Restaurants in Akron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home of the award-winning Galley Boy! Friendly curb runners serving up fresh, never-frozen burgers, shakes, & crispy extras since 1934!
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One great thing about Ohio!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I haven't been here in awhile, but if you're not from Ohio and want a great burger, other that the commercial Five Guys (which I love) Swensons is amazing!!! The Galley Boy is pretty popular, I myself get a DBL CB w/everything plus ketchup. Yummy!!! Also, potato teasers are a must and a milkshake. You can create your own milkshake flavor for example, PB, chic, and banana..(my fav) Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    116
    34
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great alternative to the big chains”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Burgers are tasty and unique in flavor. Car service is fast. So many drink choices. Potato sides are a bit too greasy for my taste, but the kids seem to like them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CurseReversed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Swenson's serves great hamburgers and other types of fast food products. I like the Galley Boy and egg salad sandwiches. My wife likes their fish sandwiches and chocolate malts. I think I read somewhere the reason why their hamburgers win so many competitions is because it might have sugar added to the mix to give it a little bit of a unique sweet taste. All I know is the food is great and their service is always very good and the prices are still reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST BURGERS AT A DRIVE IN”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

IF you are in Akron, find a Swenson's. Known for their Galley Boy Hamburger. Sooooo good. They have homemade milk shakes (in every flavor imaginable). They provide curb side service which is very speedy! This is a place that you crave, and no other burger wlll do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jubykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best burger in akron”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Don't get to Akron often but even if I'm not hungry I have to get a Swenson butger. Told my daughter and son in law about it and they didn't know why I was raving about this burger. I took them there and now they know. We make special trips a couple of times during the summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank earl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swensons North Akron Drive-In Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Swensons North Akron Drive-In Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing