We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave Wallet with Dog at Hoppin' Frog”

The Tasting Room at Hoppin' Frog
Ranked #21 of 471 Restaurants in Akron
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Tasting Room, an every-week beer festival! We highlight all the available Hoppin' Frog beers, as well as feature guest taps from some of the highest-rated craft breweries around the world. We also feature a beer-centric menu to compliment our extensive beer selections.
Kent, OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Leave Wallet with Dog at Hoppin' Frog”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

A large variety of in-house brewed beer is on tap, but PRICEY. Their 16 oz. Barrel Aged B.O.R.I.S. is $13.49 for a brew they make on the premises and have to haul 30' to the tasting room. The tasting room was crowded, consisting of stool/chairs and a few booths along the walls with no additional party rooms or dining areas, The service was fair,and the brew was good and the alcohol content is listed for each type of beer. Some beers have over 10.5% ABV, so bring a designated driver if you really want to try them all. The location is not clearly marked from the road and you have to use a GPS to find it tucked away in a group of commercial one-story buildings. A small parking lot consists of gravel, and is sloppy when wet. Not the ideal place to entertain clients or impress someone. The menu is stricly short-order. Flannel shirts, blue jeans are proper attire.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good beer and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

At first we had a hard time finding the the road. Sign not illuminated. The bar and seating area is very nice, clean, and inviting. The room is small. Had to wait on patio. That was small also. The outdoor heaters were very nice. The beer was very good. The food was very good. Limited menu but that didn't matter to us. Service was good. We had a great time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

On our way Columbus to Cleveland with a little 30 min detour to check out Hoppin' Frog! So worth it! Friday night 7:00 PM had a table in under 10 min and our appetizer and sampler flight within 5 min. Too bad I'm only sipping the samples (still gotta drive to Cleveland!) it's probably the best I've ever had. Queso and chips as appetizer pork tacos as meal. Try the beer shake after the meal--unique. Great service. Worth the detour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandJane6986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer,friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

2 went on Friday night, no tables available, sat at the bar. The staff took great care of us, friendly and fun. Loved having choices of glass sizes, we were able to taste 4 different beers. They were all excellent. We split a dinner and side dish, shredded pork soft tacos, quinoa salad and risotto. All were some of the best we have ever had, truly different and delicious. I went to the "kitchen" and complicated the chef. Fun evening, nice to go and not have sports TV's distracting conversations. Looking forward to taking others with us for our next visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lfig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite because.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

you can drink and you can drink something above what is sold at the drive thru nearby. Food was different the sandwiches I thought were priced too high. Sides unique for around this area.Hopping Frog shouldn't be a fit in Springfield area but they do bring the people. A lot of people.Most likely because this area don't have different "upper scale" what I consider bar and wine bar grille round the area.They need a bigger location and to work on servers working the tables they all took interest and seemed to want to serve everybody as they moved about but after a while the attention was lost from the main server taking care of your table.While the first part of my visit was excellently monitored by the servers when i finished no one would come around so i could get my check and pay it and could have probably walked out and not paid if i was that type but would not suggest they have cameras

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank diamondedge3forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tasting Room at Hoppin' Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing