We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and updated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Akron South
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and updated Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is one of the nicer Red Roof Inns. They have been remodeled and have Flat Screen TVs as well as wooden floors. I was there for a week and did not have any problems during my stay there. Room was clean. Staff was very helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback and welcome your comments. Hopefully next time your in the Akron area you stop by and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    74
    51
    29
    23
See reviews for
75
54
52
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days in July 2013 while visiting Ohio. Service was excellent and we had no complaints about the room or the cleanliness. They do not serve breakfast, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunnmovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We strive to make all our guests stay a pleasant one. Please stop through and see us the next time you are in the Akron area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Vanessa very helpful on arrival and other shifts. Great location to make it to NFL HOF ceremonies. Paid about same for 3 night stay here as cost of 1 night in Canton Red Roof 10 miles away. One issue - cold coffee Saturday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. At Red Roof Inn Akron we always provide a good value. I will share your comments with our staff as they are greatly appreciated. We have addressed the problem with the coffee and apologize. Please give us another chance to serve you the next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First room ggiven was on 3rd floor got all the way up there and room was trashed front desk annmarie switched my room very polite and helpful than the next next i got off work to a room with no service Annmarie was busy with other unhappy guest and checkingin with i informed her she was helpful and brought to my room towels and offeted to remake bed which i turned down due to the hard time other's were given her due to there stays and i was unable for 2 days to talk to a manager each shift said he was not in office. Due to all the problems i will never return. But i want to thank annmarie and wish her luck.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a response for our property. I sincerely apologize your stay was unpleasant. We will use your comments to get better as move forward. I know you said that you would not return but we are making a change with management and would like you to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is in between my 5 places I frequent, Kohl's, Walmart, Starbucks, and Apple Bees's all within walking distance. There wasn't anything I needed I couldn't walk too... heaven, especially when traveling. The front desk representative Chevelle was very courteous and personable, she made me feel very welcome, she responded to all of my requests with such a positive and energetic attitude that after I checked in I knew my stay would be great. She even called after making it to my room to ensure that I was pleased. She gets 100% on my scale. I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and was more than pleased with the results. I will be checking here before traveling for sure.

Room Tip: For great wi-fi get a room ground level close to the front office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to fill out a survey. We really appreciate the positive feedback. It really gives the staff a boost. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laporte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stay here a couple times a year. My room was not as clean as it was last time I stayed and some of my most favorite desk people are gone which stinks. It was noisy and some woman kept knocking on my door several times thru the night. Service not as good as it used to be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steved71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your response about our property. At Red Roof Inn Akron we strive to be better than "okay". I have addressed this with the staff and would like you to stop by and give us another chance to serve you in your future travels to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to stop spur of the moment. Everything was amazing! Whole hotel was smoke free. It was amazing. Couldn't ask for a better stay. Room was spotless. Beds were very comfy. And the service was amazing!! Very modern style to the room as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mj5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. At Red Roof Inn Akron we strive to give you the cleanest rooms at the best possible price. I will share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 10 in Akron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
0.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Akron South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Akron South

Property: Red Roof Inn Akron South
Address: 2939 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312-4717
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Akron South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles north of the Akron Canton Airport, this Red Roof is in the center of it all. We are just 6 miles from the University of Akron and the new Infocision Stadium. We are just 10 miles from Akron Children’s Medical Center, Summa Hospital, and Akron General. Family activities include a visit to the Akron Zoo (7 miles away), Pro Football Hall of Fame (13 miles away), Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens (10 miles away), or the home of the International Soap Box Derby at Derby Downs (10 miles away). Goodyear Corporate Headquarters is just a 15 minute drive and we are within walking distance of various shops and restaurants. All rooms offer free WiFi, flat screen TV, clock radio, free voicemail and extended cable television including HBO. Select rooms offer microwave/refrigerator units. Free coffee and tea is available in the lobby. FREE WI-FI! One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Akron South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Akron South Ohio
Akron Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing