We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a good choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Akron South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Akron South to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Akron South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2939 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312-4717   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join RediCard-Free Nights
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Reserved a non-smoking room and they gave me a smoking room. I made them change my room. The room had not been cleaned, so I had to ask for a new room again. There weren't any other rooms, so i had to wait while they cleaned the room which they really didn't do. The beds weren't even really made up. There was a one foot long hole in the wall under the desk. Only 4 channels worked on the TV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzrad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inability to provide you with a completed room upon your arrival.

I can assure you that we are looking into ways to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. It is my intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future.

Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    46
    26
    23
See reviews for
61
47
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in town for a family emergency and after driving for two days then being at the hospital for 10 hours we were desperate for a good nights sleep. We were directed to the Red Roof Inn and wow what a disappointment. We requested a room with a refrigerator which we did get but only after we were told that most of the refrigerators don't work anymore. We were told that this was a non smoking hotel however the room smelled of smoke and my brother in law had to change rooms because the smoke smell was so bad. The next morning I realized why the rooms smelled of smoke...the housekeepers were walking around with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths going in and out of the rooms. I am a smoker and almost couldn't handle the smell myself. The room wasn't very clean...the bathroom floor looked as though it hadn't been swept in months and the room just had a dirty feel to it. The only reason I rated this place a 2 was because of the friendliness of the front counter staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

It is our goal to provide every customer with a comfortable stay and superior service. We do not condone the smoking of our employees anywhere but in the designated areas. I assure you that this will be addressed. In addition, any problems that we had with the in room refrigerators has been corrected. It is my goal to ensure your confidence in our ability to address the problem and prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I commute to work in this area, so occasionally I will stay here instead of driving back home. I have probably stayed here a dozen times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are always clean and I'm always able to check in before 10 a.m. when a room is available. I always book the King suite for around $50 a night...always clean and the front desk is pretty accommodating. The are plenty of places to eat nearby and there's a Wal-Mart and a Kohls in walking distance...a decent, safe place to stay for the night, if on a budget. The wi-fi can be a bit slow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bu2fusul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I greatly appreciate your comments and thank you for taking time to write the information regarding the Akron Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I am staying here with a friend as we are traveling for school. I am not overly impressed with our stay at all. When we checked in, the front desk clerk, though very pleasant, was syrupy nice. Maybe that is her way but not very professional in her actions or dress. She was wearing a pair of skin tight blue jeans with various rips and stains in the legs. The lobby floor was dirty, the door was full of fingerprints and this should have been an indication of what to expect when we entered the room. The windows were very dirty both inside and out and even though we requested a non smoking room, it reeked of tobacco. We found a dirty towel hanging on the door in the bathroom and a dirty wash cloth was in the bathtub. I honestly do not believe I would ever feel comfortable coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I checked into this motel cold, wet from snow and tired. there was a space under the door that allowed cold air to blast in and the heater would not warm the room. I decided to shower to warm up and there was a dirty rag hanging on the shower head, that made me decide to check the room and I found it unclean. there was not another room available so they offered me a discount (after not offering my AARP discount).
The discount for the dirty room and rag? $5. The web pictures showed a microwave and refrigerator.... never found those....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDTIMER51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for us failing to deliver a great stay.

We strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we have taken the appropriate steps to address the problem that occurred during your stay and prevent any future occurrence.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time your travels bring you to the Akron area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at this Red Roof Inn on a Friday night in October 2011 as a place to crash on a trip toward Wheeling, Ohio. I had chosen this particular motel mainly because of the price and because the reviews were all right for what the price was.

I didn't arrive at the Red Roof until after midnight. I was not terribly impressed with the gentleman who was working the front desk. He was okay but didn't go out of his way to be helpful. I could tell he was tired and would rather have been sleeping or something. He had a very mediocre (not really friendly or welcoming) demeanor and didn't even bother telling or showing guests how to get to their assigned room once he gave the card key. (He did this to me and I noticed to a few others after me. One lady after me had to ask him where her room was.)

When I got upstairs to my room, the key did not work. So I had to head back down to the lobby and had to wait a good 5-10 minutes for him to finish working with other guests before he could reconfigure my key. That was annoying. Another thing that was annoying was that the room I stayed in did not have a little notepad and pen as most hotel/motel rooms have. I needed a pen to write some things down and had to go back down to the lobby a third time to ask the gentleman for a pen and paper.

The good news is that the room was quiet and clean, and the TV remote control worked. I got a decent night's sleep, but there was no breakfast at all other than coffee. It was definitely a no-frills place, but hey... I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New_friends_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry we fell short of providing a better experience; please accept my sincerest apologies.

I read your comment "...you get what you pay for". I want you to know that we are working diligently on being more than that. Although we are an economy hotel, we still should be able to provide exceptional service, and I am disappointed that did not happen. We are taking appropriate action to resolve this and prevent it form happening in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We made our reservation online. When we arrived they attempted to charge us more. We needed a handicap room and they only offer these with one bed. The room next door was loud so we had to move to a new room. The shower was very slippery and there was no mat. Treacherous for someone who can only use one leg. There is no pool or breakfast. I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieVandalia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Akron South, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

It is our goal to make sure every guest feels confident and safe with our accommodations. I'm sorry to hear we were unable to provide that for you. We are looking into your concerns.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 10 in Akron
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron-South
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron South
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Akron South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Akron South

Property: Red Roof Inn Akron South
Address: 2939 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312-4717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Akron South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles north of the Akron Canton Airport, this Red Roof is in the center of it all. We are just 6 miles from the University of Akron and the new Infocision Stadium. We are just 10 miles from Akron Children’s Medical Center, Summa Hospital, and Akron General. Family activities include a visit to the Akron Zoo (7 miles away), Pro Football Hall of Fame (13 miles away), Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens (10 miles away), or the home of the International Soap Box Derby at Derby Downs (10 miles away). Goodyear Corporate Headquarters is just a 15 minute drive and we are within walking distance of various shops and restaurants. All rooms offer free WiFi, flat screen TV, clock radio, free voicemail and extended cable television including HBO. Select rooms offer microwave/refrigerator units. Free coffee and tea is available in the lobby. FREE WI-FI! One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Akron South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Akron South Ohio
Akron Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing