We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great drinks and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Akron City Tavern

Akron City Tavern
Ranked #197 of 471 Restaurants in Akron
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Akron City Tavern is an established friendly neighborhood gathering spot offering comfort food and a wide selection of beer, cocktails and wine in a warm, casual setting.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great drinks and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I loved the unique menu and comfortable atmosphere.We went with a large group and were able to get in the private room. I recommend the Dirty Secretary, dirty martini with a splash of tabasco.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Oh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stumbled upon The Office a few months back and love it. The food is great - especially the scallops. The drinks are fun and well priced. We enjoy a casual yet nice atmosphere that is relaxed yet nice. This is a great place and the sister-location in the Falls as just as nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere but not worth the cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went here on a Friday night at 7:00 when most restaurants are ready for the weekend rush. Ordered Basil Mojito but they were out of basil. Ordered the veal special, but they were out of veal. Ordered the bananas foster, but they were out of bananas! Braised short ribs had no taste and my husband left most on the plate. The Butternut Squash Risotto was excellent, but unfortunately it came with over-cooked scallops. I ordered Tiramisu (which they bragged about being made to order by a special off-site baker) but it was literally inedible...and I'll eat tiramisu anywhere. When I told the server, he just asked if I wanted it boxed up. This was a huge waste of $100. If you are looking for an excellent meal for the same price in Akron, head to DBA instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great North Akron Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went to the Office for dinner on Saturday evening - two couples who rarely get out together because of children and other commitments getting in the way. We were looking for something new and different and The Office delivered. We had appetizers (Mussels - awesome, and fried zucchini - meh), entrees - tuna, mahi mahi, and salads, and dessert. All were excellent - except fried zucchini, which could have been fried anything - it was so thin it was almost impossible to tell what the vegetable was inside. Beer and wine lists are extensive and reasonably priced. Atmosphere was pleasant, though i confess i really do not understand why so many restaurants have TV's hanging on the walls - that detracts from the ambiance, but we can't seem to escape it. Last, we had a reservation for 6:15, we showed up at just about 6:15 and behold, our table was ready. Thanks for making our rare night out with friends so enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD BUT SLOW SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was with 2 girlfriends about 8 pm on a Saturday night. We sat in the bar for dinner. the service started out ok but became very slow and we had to wave down Jessica for more drinks and to order our entrees.
When we finally ordered our food we all noticed it was luke warm but very tasty. We all got different entrees so we sampled each others. The seafood was fresh, steak cooked medium rare (as ordered) and salads were also good. We never complained to the server about the food not being hot because it took so long to order in the first place. Jessica was friendly but quite slow.
I would go back for the food even though the service was not great!
Mojitos are worth trying also!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spaztik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akron City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing