We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“considerably disappointed”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Akron
A TripAdvisor Member
“considerably disappointed”
Reviewed March 31, 2006

My complaints on a 2 day visit....carpet was stained in several places, one by the bed that appeared to look and smell as if someone had gotten sick....numerous scuff and dirt marks on the walls.....heating extremely loud drowning out any attempt to watch TV or listen to the radio.....mold growing on ceiling in bath room.....insisted on non-smoking and at the time it may have been but could confirm that it was a smoking room just prior to my visit, (especially noted when heat turned on)....absolutely the worst parking accomodations that I have ever experienced....urine odor throughout hallways and elevators leading from garage to hotel.....if driving a van, as I was, had to park in a seperate section that had no one there to let you out, (had to have them called as the intercom did not operate).....I found only two things that could be considered as rewarding...(1) the staff were very nice and (2) signing out to return home. I have traveled for many years, attending many hotel and motels throughout many states. This is the first time that I was so disappointed that I have written so. Radisson has assured everyone through their literature that they offer a guarantee on satisfaction. This customer has written them asking them to honor that promise. That response will dictate if my company, or I, ever return to another Radisson in our travels. The viewing of this web site should be a prerequisite each and every morning for all employees of the Radisson chain. And corrective action should be swift and sincere when cause has presented itself such as outlined above.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    16
    20
    65
See reviews for
23
21
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2006

My daughter and I stayed here for one night due to a concert in the area. The room was okay, beds really are too close to the floor. BUT, I have artificial hips and the raised toilet was a SUPER PLUS for me!!!!! We asked for a high floor, were put on the 18th, awesome view of city and also sunset, but windows were filthy, inside and out. Bathroom area was nice, but a little slippery. Pool was neat, on 20th floor. Room was warm but water was very cold. Windows there were dirty also. We decided to order room service for dinner. I can't say enough good things about the food! It was excellent! My daughter loved her pasta. I ordered steak, it was done perfect and the potato was still steaming. The bread they served was very good also. I was a little leary about ordering from a hotel that is not very busy this time of year, but it was well worth it! Bar closed early for a Saturday night. But we had a great time anyway. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

This is the worst hotel I've stayed in. We were greeted with a horrible smell upon entering our room. I think it was coming from the AC, but whatever it was, it was AWFUL. The bathroom wasn't very clean either, and the vanity area wasn't bright enough. The showers are great, as long as you're 5' 6" or under!
The front desk staff were pretty useless too. We tried to make a collect call to Toronto and each time we tried, we were told our call could not be competed and to contact the opertor by dialing 0. When we dialed 0, that call couldn't be completed either, and then it would go through to the front desk. When we asked her how to make the call, the woman who answered the phone didn't even know if they had an operator, let alone how to contact one!
We then tried our luck at the hotel bar...well let's just say things didn't improve. I asked for a shooter, a B52. The bar tender actually responded with "a what?, boy, that's from old school, what's in that again?" Even after telling her how to make it, she still didn't get it right!
Then there was the noise. Doors slamming, people yelling back and forth from room to room, and down the halls. This went on from about 2 a.m. till about 4:30 a.m. We called down to the front desk only to be told "yes, we know who it is...they were at a wedding". Like I care? I had to call them 3 times, and still no one came, not even security. I wonder if they even have security? We even complained about it at check out time, and they still didn't seem too concerned about it. I would not consider this a cheap hotel in terms of their rates, but it's certainly cheap in every other sense. Bottom line...DON'T STAY HERE! Bad service, bad staff and obviously bad management. Shame on you Radisson.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akron hotels

lith,il
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Everyone was VERY nice & polite.

Helpful?
Thank Cefalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2005

My husband and I stayed over night for a weekend weeding. We had a newly renovated room and we loved it. The room was very clean and spacious. The ladies at the front desk were very informative and pleasant. The pool on the roof is very cool and we really enjoyed it!!! Overall, I would say our stay was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2005

The front desk staff at the Akron-Radisson was very rude and unhelpful to us upon check-in. Once we got to our room we were very disappointed. Our beds looked like they were sitting on the floor (literally, they were that low to the ground). There were also multiple stains on the mattresses and bedding. Hotel decor was below that of an average room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Akron.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 10 in Akron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 20 W Mill St, Akron, OH 44308-1407 (Formerly Akron City Centre Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Akron Hotel Akron
Radisson Akron
Akron Radisson
Rodeway Inn Akron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing