We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel?”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Johnstown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a hotel?”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rude service, our housekeeper gave us more info than anybody at the front desk. Internet never worked when they said there is nothing wrong with it. Uncooked pancakes, warm milk, warm juices, common sense says to keep these items on ice. Room was ok, had to pay for fridge & microwave. Phone didn't work for local calls, wont ever come back! Good luck with the front desk, they are terrible, when you ask them a question its a short answer and they look away like your not suppose to be there.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    16
    20
    65
See reviews for
23
21
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

No internet service in any room, we were told there were to many people trying to access it. Unclean. Noisey, could hear boombox music, loud talking in thr hallway,and shouting in the rooms,The place really needs updated.Over priced!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

please please don't stay here. the place is so dirty and the mold is out of control. you have to pay for 10.00 a night for a refrigerarator and 10.00 a night for a microwave that looks like its from 1985. you have to pay 5.95 for parking. staff was rude. are event was over booked with a wedding and we had to end our event early. they gave us 1/3 of our space. the sleep number bed didn't work. they charge 20.00 a night for a roll a way. The pool was nasty. they had a gay pride event scheduled with a Child beauty pageant. the men where walking around with there butts hanging out and in bondage gear with stuffed animals in there no no places. Our dinner got moved to the restaurant because they double booked our space so when i finally was relaxing the staff told me I had to move so they can clean and set up for the morning buffet. That was the end of the stick for me. just go somewhere else. I would rather stay at the bates motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I spent two nights this week for the Bridgestone Invitational. This place is tired and worn out... Waited in line for 15 minutes to check in with a total of 1 person in line. Went to the room and the DOOR (not key) didn't work for my co worker. They moved him to a smoking room. My AC could not cool the room. My co worker had the same issue. We had Fed Ex deliveries that arrived at 9AM and they couldn't find them even though they signed. We told them we would be back in two hours... When we returned no one had even looked and they were annoyed that we told them we needed them ASAP. This place is terrible. Just grab the double Tree on Market.... it is a nice property. There is no reason to stay in the hollow center of Akron anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakebarnes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent three nights there. The facility is older and it needs refubishing badly but just because it is older and in need of updating does not mean that it cannot be clean and guests not receive high quality service. Rooms needed major cleaning and desk service was unknowledgeable and the night guy was either sleepy or just didin't know wht he was doing as all our questions were referred to the next day. Watch your bill. Charges may be incomplete or doubled. You can do better. What does it say about the attention to detail when "restaurant" on the bill is misspelled (restaurasnt)?

Room Tip: Rooms in another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you have a conference in Akron and this is the suggested hotel, look for another. Here are some adjectives to describe the lobby, hallways and rooms: dirty, worn, stained. Our room had a peculiar smell. The lobby and hall had limited air conditioning. The employees were tired, harassed and unhappy. Part of that could be due to the severe understaffing in the hotel and the restaurant.

It will be worth your time to drive into downtown Akron each morning. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYSIWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was as bad as the reviews say. Vthe only reason I stayed here was because tHe weekend I stayed in Akron, there were no other rooms for a 40 mile radius. The carpets are filthy, the bed wasn't even completely made, the bathtub was old and beat up, and the TV is circa 1995. Although your computer or phone will detect wifi, every time I tried signing in, it would state that it had reached its maximum amount of users. I don't recall the last time I had to walk around a room in flip flops, and even the bathtub. Slap some new carpets in, change the lighting, update the atav's, and turn the A/C on.

The only positive was the restaurant. A good, decent breakfast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zapataii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 11 in Akron
161 reviews
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
6.1 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#2 of 5 in Fairlawn
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 20 W Mill St, Akron, OH 44308-1407 (Formerly Akron City Centre Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Akron Hotel Akron
Radisson Akron
Akron Radisson
Rodeway Inn Akron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing