We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Do not stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West Mill Street, Akron, OH 44308 (Formerly Akron City Centre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you have a conference in Akron and this is the suggested hotel, look for another. Here are some adjectives to describe the lobby, hallways and rooms: dirty, worn, stained. Our room had a peculiar smell. The lobby and hall had limited air conditioning. The employees were tired, harassed and unhappy. Part of that could be due to the severe understaffing in the hotel and the restaurant.

It will be worth your time to drive into downtown Akron each morning. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYSIWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    16
    20
    63
See reviews for
21
21
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was as bad as the reviews say. Vthe only reason I stayed here was because tHe weekend I stayed in Akron, there were no other rooms for a 40 mile radius. The carpets are filthy, the bed wasn't even completely made, the bathtub was old and beat up, and the TV is circa 1995. Although your computer or phone will detect wifi, every time I tried signing in, it would state that it had reached its maximum amount of users. I don't recall the last time I had to walk around a room in flip flops, and even the bathtub. Slap some new carpets in, change the lighting, update the atav's, and turn the A/C on.

The only positive was the restaurant. A good, decent breakfast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zapataii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akron hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

There is not enough space to write all the reasons not to stay here, but I will hit the "low" points:
Staff is unfriendly, disheveled, unprofessional and tatooed (sorry if that offends, but that is not appropriate in a service job)
No airconditioning in halls.
Small, outdated room that was surface cleaned (saw popcorn in the corner)
Had to sleep with ear plugs because the air conditioner sounded like a siren going by on the street all night long
Air conditioner not turned on in the room when I got there and it took several hours to cool down (like they didn't know I was coming?)
They call it a fitness center: one treadmill, one out-dated stair master, a couple of weight machines and the room was so hot that they had to have a fan in there to cool it down. Like you really want to work out when it is already hot.
I ordered room service and they got the order wrong. I put the tray outside my door at 7:30 PM that evening - it was still there the next morning at 7:30 AM when I left.
These people have not idea how to run a hotel and I predict it will be closed within a year.
I mistakenly paid attention to the reviews on Travelocity when I should have gone to Trip Advisor. I will be sure to check here before I book next time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The bed was comfy. The room seemed clean. Bathroom was tiny, towels had holes in them. The elevators were weird with having to use the room key to move from floor to floor. The waitress in the bistro was rude and weird. The front desk clerk seemed very annoyed and frustrated when we went to check in even though we were the only people in the lobby. The garage attendant was very nice though. I will not stay there again. Too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Recently stayed for a family wedding. First, specifially asked to be near my brother & sister's room but they only managed to get my brother & I close. Second, there was a youth basketball tournament in town & kids are running up & down the halls. I had to call the front desk at MIDNIGHT (while trying to keep my four month old daughter from waking up) and they had to send security up twice & they had to threaten to call the cops. Did I get any kind of reduction on my room? Of course not. The only good thing was the location being two blocks from the venue.

Room Tip: The bed was new & comfortable. Didn't have time to try out the Jacuzzi tub - and had not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here recently for a conference, and I was extremely disappointed. The rooms are old and stained (just gross--stains on the carpet, on the furniture, everywhere), and the staff were not very helpful. The lobby is dark and dreary and not very welcoming. You need to use a key card to access your floor from the elevator, which is fine--but it only works on certain elevators, depending on which floor you need to get to. The pool and fitness center are on the top floor. When I got up to work out in the morning, my key card wouldn't work to let me up there. When I asked the front desk staff (after waiting in line for almost 20 min since there were so many other people with issues), they simply reprogrammed my card. I tried again and it still wouldn't work (by the way, there aren't stairs leading up to the 20th floor, which I would have happily taken by this point--they weren't connected to the part of the building I was in). I went back to the front desk and they suddenly realized that the floor needed to be unlocked! By the time they actually fixed the issue, I was almost completely out of time to work out before I needed to be at meetings.

I will say, the beds were new and comfortable. The location near my conference was good. But the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and this hotel needs a lot of work...I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The property is close to downtown but is very old and not updated. Older picture tube TV, not enough power outlets, dated lamps etc. Its not up to the times

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekhar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 10 in Akron
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
6.0 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#2 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 20 West Mill Street, Akron, OH 44308 (Formerly Akron City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Akron Hotel Akron
Radisson Akron
Akron Radisson
Rodeway Inn Akron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing