We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
52
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
52
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests favorite activity own horse beautiful horses entire stay kari hosts lodge accommodations horseback goats colt lodging kd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at KD guest ranch last week, travelling alone from Ireland for the adults only week. I was picked up from Columbus airport and from there everything was brilliant. We went out on the horses twice a day and as someone who was inexperienced Dave and Kari were great answering any questions that I or anyone else had. Hainsley who helped out there was also very helpful! The trails were stunning and even the views from the cabins and lodge were amazing. We did team penning twice and that was loads of fun. I liked how we all had our own horse for our stay who we groomed and saddled. The food here was the best I've ever had and there was no shortage, no way anyone would go hungry! It was such a laid back relaxed holiday, perfect for what I wanted. It would be perfect for families too as the owners have 3 children who are around when they're not in school and they're great. I'd recommend this ranch to anyone looking for a relaxing break away from everything but who wants to do something at the same time. I will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

So close to major cities yet away from it all. A wonderful experience. Excellent accommodations, beautiful horses, great meals in a peaceful environment. The coupe who runs it and their family is kind, gracious, caring and has a great sense of humor. Your feel at home right away This was my second time there and hopefully wont be my last

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expedition217599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

My family of 5 (children ages 12,11, and 8) visited the KD Ranch for 4 days. I was hoping to have a different kind of vacation- one where we could disconnect from electronics and make lasting memories. KD Ranch delivered and exceeded my expectations! The family- Dave, Kari, Brayley, Bronco, and Colt were so kind, welcoming, and attentive. Their children took our children around and showed them the ropes. They even had our children setting their alarms to wake up early in the morning to do chores with them (feeding animals, collecting eggs, walking goats)! We enjoyed long, tranquil trail rides on several different trails. The horses were well trained and well cared for. Our favorite activity was team penning. We enjoyed 3 fabulous, farm fresh meals a day. Our children did not watch television and did not even ask for electronics the entire stay! Our children did not want to come home and they are already begging to return next year. We will be back!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Departure438736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

So we loved this place. Family of 4 with a 10 and 12 year old. The staff was patient with the non experienced and very attentive. The hosts/owners were both very personable and went out of their way to make everyone comfortable.
You learn the basics of horse care and get to saddle your own horse and brush them. 2 rides a day with breaks in between to get used to things. There is a pool and plenty of porch space to read or just relax. The hosts had kids the same age as ours so it worked out great. Hosts kids are very personable and are skilled at making young and old feel comfortable. The lodge is first rate as are the cabins. Very clean and decorated well. Ours even had a full kitchen although we never used it. 3 meals a day and all were well above average. You will likely gain some weight b/c the food is good and home cooked. You eat family style with the other guests which was fun.
Hosts have 2 wranglers (ranch hands) which are both skilled and patient. Easy to talk to and friendly. Ours were college aged girls with many years of horse experience. They work their butts offs for you and the farm.
Host had a dog named Laredo and he was entertaining and went on every ride with us. He may or may not have had an altercation with a ground hog while we were out one day.
Team Penning was my favorite as you get into a ring with 20 or so cows and you and your horse have to separate 3 of them and with the help over a couple other guests, put them into a pen. It was awesome.
The lodge has a little quiet library, an upstairs bar, pool table and Foosball table. There is also a movie room for the evenings or if it rains.
We mainly enjoyed sitting on the many porches and watching cows/horses in the evening and the fireflies that came out.
This is a very peaceful and quiet place. No one locks their doors.
We'll be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank takenscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Our experience at the KD Guest Ranch was so much more than we ever anticipated!! Dave & Kari went out of their way to help my husband plan a surprise birthday extravaganza for me that included all of our family and friends—arriving at different times, serving meals, hiding vehicles and people. After Kari & Dave’s excellent instructions, all of the adults in our group were comfortable grooming, saddling, and riding their horses—several were fearful of horses before that!! The ranch and the surrounding countryside is beautiful and we loved exploring the area on horseback.
The entire family was so welcoming and charming—Brayley, Bronc, and Colt are well on their way to carrying on their parents wonderful hospitality!! The cabins are comfortable and easily accommodated our complex family needs. Everyone should visit Adamsville and the KD Guest Ranch—no need to travel West for a ranch experience!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank cbtuck2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews