We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
52
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent a week other guests peanut allergy great hosts favorite activity great vacation own horse beautiful horses entire stay rolling hills guest ranch ranches kari lodge accommodations horseback goats
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2018

So we loved this place. Family of 4 with a 10 and 12 year old. The staff was patient with the non experienced and very attentive. The hosts/owners were both very personable and went out of their way to make everyone comfortable.
You learn the basics of horse care and get to saddle your own horse and brush them. 2 rides a day with breaks in between to get used to things. There is a pool and plenty of porch space to read or just relax. The hosts had kids the same age as ours so it worked out great. Hosts kids are very personable and are skilled at making young and old feel comfortable. The lodge is first rate as are the cabins. Very clean and decorated well. Ours even had a full kitchen although we never used it. 3 meals a day and all were well above average. You will likely gain some weight b/c the food is good and home cooked. You eat family style with the other guests which was fun.
Hosts have 2 wranglers (ranch hands) which are both skilled and patient. Easy to talk to and friendly. Ours were college aged girls with many years of horse experience. They work their butts offs for you and the farm.
Host had a dog named Laredo and he was entertaining and went on every ride with us. He may or may not have had an altercation with a ground hog while we were out one day.
Team Penning was my favorite as you get into a ring with 20 or so cows and you and your horse have to separate 3 of them and with the help over a couple other guests, put them into a pen. It was awesome.
The lodge has a little quiet library, an upstairs bar, pool table and Foosball table. There is also a movie room for the evenings or if it rains.
We mainly enjoyed sitting on the many porches and watching cows/horses in the evening and the fireflies that came out.
This is a very peaceful and quiet place. No one locks their doors.
We'll be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank takenscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Our experience at the KD Guest Ranch was so much more than we ever anticipated!! Dave & Kari went out of their way to help my husband plan a surprise birthday extravaganza for me that included all of our family and friends—arriving at different times, serving meals, hiding vehicles and people. After Kari & Dave’s excellent instructions, all of the adults in our group were comfortable grooming, saddling, and riding their horses—several were fearful of horses before that!! The ranch and the surrounding countryside is beautiful and we loved exploring the area on horseback.
The entire family was so welcoming and charming—Brayley, Bronc, and Colt are well on their way to carrying on their parents wonderful hospitality!! The cabins are comfortable and easily accommodated our complex family needs. Everyone should visit Adamsville and the KD Guest Ranch—no need to travel West for a ranch experience!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank cbtuck2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

My husband and I wanted to do something special and unique for our 30-year wedding anniversary. We had wanted to visit a ranch and were hoping to find something closer to home. We found KD Guest Ranch after doing some online research. It was such a wonderful experience. Dave and Kari and their children, along with their wrangler, Kasha were absolutely amazing. They are tireless in making you feel welcome and went above and beyond what we expected. This is a high-quality ranch and they seem to have thought of everything to accommodate their guests. The cabins and lodge are very clean and well-appointed with unique décor. The food was incredible. Three large meals were provided each day and all were delicious. My husband has many years of experience with horses and I had none. Kari and Dave spoke with each one of us about our riding experience and matched us perfectly with a horse that would fit us. We loved the trail rides and team penning. We also met some terrific people from Pennsylvania and Cincinnati and really enjoyed spending time laughing and having fun. It was a memorable experience with the other guests and our hosts. We would definitely go back again!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank hjloap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Just returned again from the KD Guest Ranch Memorial Day weekend vacation. Wow! It was our 5th season going and another amazing trip. we go knowing what to expect, and yet again enjoyed new adventures. Dave and Kari have become like family to us. Braley Bronc and Colt are growing up so fast,and such a treasure to be around. The hospitality and food once again off the charts. We were sad to see a seasoned ranch hand Jazmin leaving but were delighted to get to know their new ranch hand Kasia from Poland. What a wonderful girl and awesome ranch hand. An opportunity to get to learn abit of her culture and her amazing wrangling abilities.We got to see some old friends Pat and Cheryl aka( twisted sisters) and met some new friends Harry and Jen a wonderful couple Vincent and Holly and our bunk neighbor Gena. Thank you Dave and Kari ,family and staff for giving us another wonderful vacation. Can't wait to see all of you again next year! And the ribs were to die for!

Room tip: great views cleanliness, and quiet
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sludwig500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

My daughter and I were looking for two things in a guest ranch: first, a place that would accomodate her nut and peanut allergy, and two, that had the cowboy, rather than nose to tail trail ride, experience. KD Guest Ranch fulfilled both with flying colors!! Another family had a gluten intolerance, and that was also accomodated by Dave's cooking. Kari and the kids couldn't have been nicer. Jasmine was great to talk to, and she had excellent service, both in the lodge and with the horses. I would not hesitate to return there next year, and for a food allergy, they really take care of you!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews