We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay beach eatery”
Review of The Froggy Dog

The Froggy Dog
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Avon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Nellysford, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay beach eatery”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food here was actually fairly decent; cod parmesan special quite good, mahi special okay; the sides were pretty good. Our waitress was quite pleasant, which made up for her spotty knowledge of items on the menu (which is actually indicative of a training shortcoming on management's part). What really drags this restaurant down was our experience on the previous evening... Five of us arrived a minute before 9:00, but by the time the hostess made her way over she informed us they closed at 9:00 so we wouldn't be seated. When I showed her the time on my watch, she just shrugged. Appalling!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    113
    78
    55
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windber, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Do not skip this place for dinner!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited for dinner on the last evening of our week. Really can't say too much about the little things that they do to take care of a customer. We were 5 adults, 3 kids, one in a high chair. First thing they did was to provide a small dish with Cheerio's in it for the baby. The service was a little slow but not terrible at all.

They provide a little room off the dining room that had toys and a TV for the kids to play in while we were waiting for our meals. There was a great variety of entree's to choose from and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and were more than satisfied. Large portions, almost too large and served hot. The kids meals came served in a frisbee instead of a plate that really excited them.

The one thing that we were most impressed with was, believe it or not, the Tartar sauce. It was so incredibly good that I offered to buy a container from the store to take home. The fellow was so gracious as to just give us a pint. I am sure that we will very much enjoy. The service was a little spotty in that the waitress forgot a few things at the very beginning but pulled through and took care of us very well the rest of the evening.

Although it was not the ten point, all star performance that we would all like to have, it was far more than adequate and very superior to the other restaurants that we visited during our stay.

I believe that this place is as good as it can get for Avon.

PS, Thanks for the Tartar Sauce!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r4back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced Food and Didn't Even Taste Good”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to The Froggy Dog for dinner. The service was not so good. Our waitress was pretty rude. I had Steamed Soft Shell Crab with mashed potato and steamed veggies. The mashed potato filled up 2/3 of my plate, and there were only two soft shell crabs. Crabs seemed to be overcooked. Really soggy crabs made me wonder if the crabs were really steamed. We ordered mac&cheese for our daughter. The menu said "Kraft's Mac&Cheese" $4.99!!!! We should have just packed our Kraft Mac&Cheese from home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asiandiva1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food was surprisingly good given that we were a little apprehensive to stay once we walked through the door. Our party ordered seafood, chicken and pork. All were excellent. Homemade salad dressings, tartar sauce and marinades yum! The atmosphere is very dated, 70s, with 80s music and staff dressed in shorts and tshirts -we were very overdressed. Our waitress, Kara was excellent, attentive and very friendly which made up for the disappointing appearance of the restaurant. Overall, much better dining experience than the inside appearance portrays.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, great for kids, good food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The crayons and pirate place mats to draw on were fun for me too, but, too bad they were supposed to be for the kids.

The burgers we ordered and the calamari were fresh and delicious, and there were lots of options on the menu. The kids pizza was awful looking and tasting. Their french fries were tasty. The pasta salad was not so tasty. The service was not so impressive, unfortunately, although they were very friendly.

What I mean is, the waitress was at one point trying to make a joke, but english was not her primary language, so it really d

Seafood, burgers, frog legs, hot dogs, fun for kids, very casual, it met our dining needs for the afternoon.

It didn't have a particular expertise or sense of something that would draw me back there ever, though -- maybe I should have tried the hot dogs?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Froggy Dog also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Froggy Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing