We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dune Rose- an experience!”

Review of DUNE ROSE 350

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Avon, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skipjack...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dune Rose- an experience!”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
5
people found this review helpful

If you read the reviews of Dune Rose you'll get a mixed opinion of the place. Here's the truth. This house is old. It needs some serious TLC. There indeed are issues noted in the reviews that I'll tell you are still issues now in 2017- THAT BEING SAID, Dolphin Reality was phenomenal to work with and if they inconvienced our stay to the point that we needed something fixed, they sent maint people out right away and fixed it! The other stuff we rolled with- it's vacation, we got a ridiculous one week off season price, and everyone had an absolutely amazing time.

Dune Rose is a circle house tucked into the end of Avon that is quite literally on the beach. You have your own walkway to the beach dune and up and over you go to the waves. We had a beach fire (permits available for free at the gas station), we brought a little grill, the house came with two chairs and we brought our own beach stuff otherwise. You will deal with the NC skeeters so bring your bug spray!

This house has everything common on the second story with a wrap around porch that overlooks the walk to the dune. We sat outside at night and looked at the stars and went out each morning for coffee and sunrises. The kitchen is half updated with a an older oven that you shouldn't rely completely on (worked all but the last day for us!) and you should consider buying a bag of ice too (intermittent ice making from the freezer). It does have a Keurig, new dishwasher, newer fridge/freezer, WELL stocked kitchen (utensils plates glasses cookware) and gorgeous countertops with a huge range and a huge stainless sink! There is a nice little bathroom upstairs.

When you go downstairs (can go outside to go downstairs or down the spiral staircase) the bedrooms are all found on the first floor. There's a master bedroom (queen) with a screened in porch and hammock, another bedroom (queen) with an unscreened porch, and a third bedroom with a queen bed and a twin bunk bed. There is a hallway bathroom downstairs and one in the master bedroom with a hilarious slightly tilted toilet and really cool hand painted mural walls (same person who did the great artwork throughout the house). Our AC worked great and we stayed nice and cool. We brought our own linen pillows and towels- include hand towels and dish towels if you're coming.

Please note: this house is older. It is a wet environment here. There is slight dampness that exudes through the first floor (like leave your clothes or towels out and they feel a little damp after sitting all day). But that's expected with an older wooden house that's sitting ON the beach on an island.

Does Dune Rose need a little makeover? Sure. Can you find this value elsewhere? No way. We come to Hatteras every summer and have not stayed /on/ the ocean before and I would say that you cannot beat this location, price, space, and accommodation. I had so much fun staying here that if it was available, I would consider it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you for your review! We will make sure to pass along your feedback to the owner! We appreciate your honesty and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dczanowsk...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dune Rose Made Our Vacation Great!”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

While the Dune Rose may be older and weathered, what you pay to stay oceanfront makes up for it (similar homes were twice as much or more)! This house was great in our opinion. The entire third floor is open and spacious and great for family time. The third floor deck has a picnic table, three lounge Chris and a rocking chair with wonderful views of the dunes and the Atlantic Ocean. All the bedrooms were on the second floor. The bedroom my wife and I shared he a screened in deck with a swing and a hammock. There's a stairway that leads to a path which is cut through the vegetation (a landscaping crew did some trimming while we here) and leads to the boardwalk that goes over the dunes to the beach. There's showers and storage underneath the house.

If you're looking for luxury this isn't the right home. But if you're looking for a spacious home right on the beach this affordable Dune Rose is the right place! The ladies at Dolphin Realty are always friendly, accommodating and willing to work with you on payments....this is the seventh home we've rented from Dolphin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you for your review, David. We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to seeing you next year! We are so glad you enjoyed Dune Rose for your 2016 vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desncasey
Morrow, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For the money you would be better off finding a nicer place to stay.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We paid over 2,000 for a one week rental where there was mold in the bathroom. The double oven wouldn't operate correctly, paint is coming off the ceiling in one of the rooms, the air conditioning vent is taped on to keep from falling off, the refrigerator would freeze food, their is rust all over the lighting in one of the bathrooms, the washing machine sounded like it was going to fly away, the shower would leak water, there are nails coming up through the deck, and the upstairs bathroom isn't really usable if you want pruvacy. There was no light so you couldn't use the restroom with the door closed. I was very disappointed in this rental and will not return. I can't believe that the owner is okay with renting this property in the shape it is in. I would have expected it to be much nicer from the pictures. Some of the lights wouldn't work when you come in the house, as well as there are some lamps that don't even have light bulbs. The top oven would burn everything that goes in it bit if you put food in the lower oven it wouldn't cook it either. It might warm it though. This was by far the most horrible experience I have ever had staying at this home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy with the house. We would have taken care of some of the issues while you were staying if we had known. The issues that you noted will be addressed with the owner. Thank you for letting us know. Even that you are not coming back to this house, we hope to see you again at the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing