We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”

Review of FREAKY TIKI 305

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avon, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible - Never ever again”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Not worth the money we paid. There was no fish cleaning station like it said in the advertisement. The light downstairs was horrible. The outside shower looked like it could give you Tetnus plus it had fish scales all over the seat because the fish station wasn't there. The beds and couches need replacing because of wear. The couch and living room furniture was so nasty looking. The coffee pot didn't work right. The house smelled very musty when we got there and was very clean. The cabinets needed a good dusting as well as other stuff too. I found a dead cockroach in the dining room area. The lights thru-out the house were so dark or didn't work you couldn't see very well. The TV SUCKED royally...half the time you couldn't watch Netflix or certain shows because of the signal going out. Also you have to drive 30 minutes on past the house to get the keys as well as dropping them back off. No instructions as to garbage pickup. I can continue to go on but I'll let my husband finish it up.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thank you for your review and feedback. We did address the issues that you brought to our attention; however there are things in this review that you did not make us aware about that we could have replaced or had looked into. We apologize that you feel you did not have an enjoyable stay at this property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsluki1
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I studied these pics for months before our trip. I really thought "well it will do for such a good price". Wow. I was blown away. Much nicer then the pics let on. Extremely clean and on what is basically a private beach. Never more than 3 families at a time. My only complaint is that the check in is in Buxon which is an extra 30 minutes down the island. When you drive 13 hours with children that's an extra hour you can REALLY do without. (Come on guys hide a key or something) Also when we got to the Buxon office my husband had to use the rest room and the front desk refused us. She said the bathroom (that we could clearly see a foot away) was for employees only. Then we were yelled at because our car was out front (not blocking anyone just not in the parking area). We pulled up out front to keep an eye on the car with all our stuff and our children since the parking area is not visible. At the end of the week I called and begged to be able to leave the key on the kitchen counter so we didn't have to drive to Buxon and was told that wasn't possible because nobody knew where the spare key was A plus for property D- for Customerservice. Beautiful property bad staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the house! We apologize you feel you had a negative experience with Dolphin Realty Staff. We strive to provide the best customer service possible to our guests. Our office is located in Hatteras Village and we are currently working on getting lock boxes for all of our units up North. We do not have a public restroom, the room that you assumed was the bathroom was actually our real estate office. I'm not sure who "yelled" at you but I can assure you it was not a Dolphin Realty Employee as all guests use the front area for parking. Again, we apologize that you feel we did not provide the best customer service possible. We hope to see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmelazare
Terra Alta, West Virginia
1 review
“Nothing Fancy”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Freaky Tiki was nothing fancy, dated inside... paneled walls, older style furniture. It was however fully equip, fit our family and our budget. It was close to beach access and within walking distance of restaurants and stores. If you are planning a vacation on a tight budget it will meet your needs well. Avon Beach it very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your vacation! Hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home, beach heaven.”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

House is very close to the beach. We liked that it was a very short walk to the beach. The house has all the kitchen appliances you need and feels very spacious inside. We love to sit on the deck and eat and play cards. We loved having the washer and dryer. The front lawn is roped off , we thought so you don't park there. Please beware we found out that there are cactus growing there. We do believe our dog got stabbed. I feel they should have signs in the lawn warning people about them. I would not want young children stepping on them. The needles on the cactus do stab and make you bleed and feel like you are being stung. This is the only complaint I have about the property. We had a great time and would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
So glad you had a great time! There are two types of cactus that are a part of sandy soil on Hatteras Island. We try to keep them out of the yard. Look forward to seeing you here again!
Thank you!
Dolphin Realty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda G
Ellenboro
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable for the price!”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Freaky Tiki Is not a luxury resort,but a very comfortable beach cottage,with a short walk to the beautiful beach,It is fully equipped with everything you need to make your stay pleasant.It has 3 bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa,& 2 full baths.The outside shower is amazing,we used it not only for sand removal,but on occasion for total bathing.Nothing like the smell of the ocean & the wonderful breeze plus total privacy, while washing the remnants of the day away. The cottage is equipped with a washer,dryer,dishwasher.coffee maker and a very adequate refrigerator. Everything was in good working order and well maintained.Br 1 queen 2-db 3-twins. The upper deck and stairs have recently been replaced,I frlt maybe to add the landing and to extend the width, which was a plus. If you love the beach and or not looking for a spa resort, but comfort at an affordable rate, I highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to find location, near by quality restaurants and the beach!
Liked least: Nothing, forgot to mention pet friendly & no pet odor!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you for your feedback! It is appreciated! We are so glad you had a nice vacation! Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickraglo...
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok but needs some work for sure”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Although I feel somewhat lucky to get a place where we want to go (Avon), this place needs some work. It is functional but basic stuff - plumbing, electrical, stairs were cheaply constructed and the owners are trying to sell and don't seem interested in keeping the place up. The key pick-up was almost 20 miles away in Hatteras Village - not good. The cost was a bit cheaper than other places nearby so that was good. DOn't get this wrong, we had a great time and it is very close to a great beach and we love Avon and Buxton and a fairly short drive to ferry to Ocracoke - we love the outer banks and hope to go back - just not to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the house
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
I am glad you had a great time. I am sorry you were not happy with the house. It is a basic beach cottage reasonable price and short walk to the beach. Maybe we can fine a house more suitable to your taste and needs. The office is the same distance as to get on the ferry to go to Ocracoke, which both are in Hatteras Village. Hope to see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing