We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi”
Review of Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar - CLOSED

Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Best Sushi Bar On the Outer Banks!!!!!...Rolls you have never seen. Local fish and shellfish always ! Small place/ Tapas menu
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Couldnt find a negative thing to say...even on their restricted menu due to the owners having a baby I found delicious and unique options....We enjoyed their handroll happy hour and even tried a Sake sampler...Everything was perfect, the service was sweet and helpful...perfect place for a quick bite or stolen romantic date...and after, it is a parkinglot away from the wonderful Avon Pier

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdngjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new place - gotta go if you love sushi!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived at 12:15 for lunch and saw no cars in the lot which made us quite uncomfortable. Luckily we realized that they did not open until 1 (which we thought odd) but decided to return. Upon our return we were quickly greeted and seated. A few minor slips in service lowered my rating but were explained and blamed on a recently changed staff (back to school). I mean we are talking really minor things here (no glass for my Sapporro, had to ask for plates when the sushi came, etc.) but the staff was always quick to apologize and correct the errors. We had the Mexican Half Pipe, salmon roll, avacado roll, and 1 other specialty roll that I cannot remember. All were excellent (but be warned, the fresh jalapenos were appropriately hot) ! We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisfrombaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastie17
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique rolls and superbly fresh and good quality food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't let the small size of this restaurant fool you! The service was great and the food even better!!! Some of the best (and most unique) sushi rolls we have ever had!!! Drinks were amazing as well! Stayed in Avon for five night and ate here twice for dinner and twice for ate lunch!! Yummmm! Finally amazing sushi in the Avon, Buxton area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank coastie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great sushi with innovative menu. Squid salad was delicious. Everything was fresh and presented beautifully.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great date night”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Must try the Mexican Pipeline roll... Deliciously spicy. Also, the special roll for the evening was great. The drinks were interesting and tasty as well. We went on open mic night, but the guy mostly performing played some good stuff (think Dave Matthews, Jimmy Buffett). Oh, our server was very friendly as well. My husband and I had our date night here and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnson731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing