We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avon Pier”
Review of Avon Fishing Pier

Avon Fishing Pier
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by two local brothers from the village of Kinnakeet (now known as Avon Village), the pier took two years to construct. It opened its doors in the summer of 1963 and has been in continuous operation since then. The pier stretches 665 feet out into the Atlantic Ocean. Its visible crooked bends are testament to the forces of Mother Nature over the many years. Today the Avon Fishing Pier is the only pier remaining in operation in the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The pier is world famous for its many records, especially with giant Red Drum that frequently school just off the end of the pier. Today the pier is in even better hands with ownership belonging to Koru Village Resort and Spa. Whether you are a seasoned angler or just taking the family fishing for the day, the Avon Fishing Pier is the perfect spot. Come and start a tradition of your very own today.
Corapeake, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avon Pier”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Admission as a non-fisher is only $1.00 making this an excellent activity for children to walk out and see people fishing as well as have the experience of walking over the waves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    67
    31
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PRINCE GOERGE, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT PEOPLE”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

very nice people, love the pier here as always. dont change a thing. we visit every yr. clean nice . watch the bugs at night on put put course.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a wonderful asset to Avon's sightseeing menu. My husband and I were there on a very windy day. It was breathtaking to feel the wind, watch the waves and see people fishing. I thought I saw a turtle swimming in the waves with water spouting from the center of its shell..it turned out to be an old pier post.....very funny! I liked the rolling surface of the pier path that is that way from repairs after storms. There is a very reasonable fee to walk the pier. Store staff very friendly and accessible. A 3 par golf course is right nearby too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Cool Pier”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice pier to stroll down or catch some fish. We saw people catch some big fish around there. Cute shop too !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great once we found it”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Even Siri had trouble finding this place. We don't fish, we just stopped to walk out on the pier on a cloudy day. It's worth the $1.00/person just to see this unusual pier. Gift shop has some good stuff for kids and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momcat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avon Fishing Pier also viewed

 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Avon Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing