We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay....good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Villas at Koru Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Avon
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay....good location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rented the "Fire" Villa for the first week in August. Very pleased with the place. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Location is excellent...across the street from the Avon Pier. 1 mile from Food Lion. Short walk to beautiful private pool with bar. Room was decorated nicely. AC worked VERY well. Will definitely rent there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Two girlfriends and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Villas. We stayed in "Stars" which is a 3-bedroom villa. (Each villa, or apartment really, is named. There is Earth, Fire, Water, etc.). The villa was extremely clean and well decorated. It looks much nicer in person than the photos on their website convey. My bed was super comfy, with great linens. The shower had great water pressure and the only time we noticed an issue was when 2 of us tried to take a shower at the same time. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes and cookware. We cooked in one night and had no issue. As some people have noted, there is a Food Lion nearby so you can get groceries. Check the basket in the kitchen before you go! We found some coupons in it which we didn't see before we went.

It is NOT ocean front, but they never make that claim on the website. It is across the street. Villa rental includes access to the Beach Klub, which includes the pool and gym. We didn't use the gym, but my friends said it was very nice. They also went to the spa and got massages, which they were quite happy with. The pool is ocean front, with a wall around it. There is a tiki bar at the pool and sometimes they have bands at night.

We took an excursion (extra cost) to go paddle boarding in the sound. The owners' children, Alyssa and Eli take you out, show you everything you need to know, and give a demonstration of proper form. They were great. It was so awesome to be out on the sound on a gorgeous day, just taking it all in. And my shoulders were actually a little sore the next day.

Some people have noted that this place is hands-off. That is one of the reasons we enjoyed it so much. There is a front desk that closes at 8 (I think) but we went right before it closed to get a new lightbulb and it was fine. Housekeeping does not do anything until you check out but who needs housekeeping service every day anyway?

The villas open up to a lovely courtyard that is shaded with picnic tables, 2 grills, and adirondack chairs. We sat outside several nights with a glass of wine just enjoying the weather.

This is not really a place for children. There were 2 families staying there while we were, and they let their children roam around outside. They were loud and while the villas are supposed to be a "quiet zone" after 10pm these kids stayed up until 10:30 making a lot of noise. There isn't a lot for kids to do here. It's really geared more towards yoga retreats, girls weekends, that sort of thing.

Overall we had a great stay, and I would definitely recommend this place for a long weekend or quick trip. If you're going to stay a week or more, definitely get a house. It's just easier, and probably cheaper. But for long weekends I will definitely come back to Koru Villas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean and friendly staff. The villa is a single floor no stairs. But my opinion now is that I would have preferred to have stayed in a house. The beds in our villa made an awful loud squelching sound every time you touched the beds. It didn't matter if you were sitting down, rolling from side to your back. You needed ear plugs!! We traveled with an infant and every time we moved the noise woke her. The twin bed did the same thing. The villas are across the highway from the beach klub pool and beach. I didn't realize that until we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommy2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Korus Villas in mid-April and had a great time. Our villa was lovely and the check in process was easy. We were a group of 4 sisters and daughters in a 3 bedroom unit. The villas had every amenity we could wish for and several we never got around to using - like those beach cruisers. There were grocery stores and restaurants close by which was convenient. We did not have an ocean view but were right across the street. Staff gave us beach recomendations to the best beach on the outer banks and it was terrific. I would have wished for a hottub but the pool area was closed due to being out of season. We just didn't have enough time for everything!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mferriswheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice villas, was unclear on whether we had access to the pool or not-one woman told us there was a membership fee yet online and in brochures we were told it was included? Had very little hot water but other than that very nice place, would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianacci3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were only there one night, but loved it. The villas are beautifully decorated - the pictures online do not do them justice! We will definitely be back - hopefully for a little longer stay. For anyone with younger children, you do have to cross the road for the beach and pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't get much better: wonderful accommodation (clean, stylish, & affordable). Great location. Kitchen is fully equipped. Across the street from the beach & adjacent to an amazing spa & fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
5.8 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
6.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
13.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Koru Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Koru Village

Property: The Villas at Koru Village
Address: 40920 Highway 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915 (Formerly Villas at Spa Koru)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Avon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in our lush Meditation Garden, the Villas offer something for everyone. By staying and playing on our campus you have access to various amenities including: our state-of-the-art gym, rejuvenating classes such as Yoga, steam rooms and our newly renovated backyard which features volleyball, horseshoes, pool access and much more. Centered in the heart of Hatteras Island, you will truly enjoy waking up at Koru Village. Whether you are seeking a family beach vacation or a weekend spa getaway with the girls, you will find a relaxing, positive atmosphere on the campus of Koru Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing