We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stop on our way down the island”
Review of Cafe 12 - CLOSED

Cafe 12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stop on our way down the island”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We travel to Frisco the same time every year, and always stop here! Small place but huge on flavor! Excellent fish sandwhiches and wraps ... great place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smith Mountain Lake
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Something Very Different. Something Very Good.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cafe 12 is an average looking storefront in the Avon strip mall. There is nothing average inside. This is the home of the famous Hatteras flat....garlic herb tortillas cooked on a flat-top grill and topped with a variety of ingrediants...Asian...veggie....seafood....parrothead. A crispy edge of cheese melts into a lacy border. We tried the Crab, Artichoke, Portabella Flat and the Tuna Flat (red onions, diced tomatoes, roasted red peppers, feta cheese, topped with sushi grade tuna). Wonderful! A large selection of appetizers include homemade chowders and bisques, as well as scallops, tuna, crab cake, shrimp and clams. Doesn't matter where you are staying on the Outer Banks....make the trip to Avon and get yourself a Hatteras flat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ticocharlieSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Interacted with 2 staff, one, Jade (name on check) was very nice, the other waitress, a bit surly. Wife's seafood salad was excellent. My habanero chicken flat was so so. The flat concept is great, but the chicken was very dry and arrived without the hot sauce/salsa. Very reasonably priced, google maps definitely has problems finding it so you may need to call as we did.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skierguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hatteras flats”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just excellent service, really great oyster po-boy and well the Hatteras crab, artichoke flat can only be described by going there and eating one- dessert bread pudding, forget it! out of this world! this is a really excellent restaurant

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank empirebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Well above avg food, very reasonably priced”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Far better than we expected. Don't judge this book by it's cover! Just try it, you'll love it.
.19 cent shrimp from 4-6 are awesome and large sea scallops are amazing. Everyone in our party was very happy with their order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 12 also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing