We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Seafood served sassy”

Ketch 55 Seafood Grill
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Seafood served sassy”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our best meal in OBX this time. The food was both traditional and not so much... The tuna was served as ordered and the Asian crab cakes were excellent. Tried some oysters and some calamari for appetizers and both were delicious. The calamari was lightly breaded and fried to perfection! Oysters were fresh and chilled on the half shell. It also has a great kids menu and our 3 and 7 year old children found good food too Chicken and hot dogs but had other items too..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jr s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    83
    25
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Solid seafood options, below average service”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dined at Ketch 55 tonight and had a fair experience. It was my second time there this week but don't know if I would return after tonight. Ordered the fresh catch tuna which was quite good. It comes with orzo and grilled zucchini and squash; I asked them to hold the orzo and to get a few more veggies instead... my plate came out with 3 small pieces of zucchini. I also ordered a fairly pricey beer, which did not taste very good - I asked the waiter if he could change it for me, and he said yes, but he would charge me for the new beer. I understand this is at the waiter's discretion, but it was poor customer service, particularly when our entrees were <$25. Place is pretty loud as well, but that seems common in beach towns. Overall, food was very decent but service and atmosphere could be improved, especially given the price of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great meal from appetizers to main course. Calamari is some of the best I've ever had. A few jalapenos and mandarin oranges were a pleasant addition. House salad was fresh and delicious. Snow crab legs were awesome. Waiters were very friendly and accomadating. A little bit noisy but that is not a complaint, it is a beach town. Everyone else at our table was very happy with their food. Compliments to the chef!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food Long Wait”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We expected a diner style restaurant and were surprised by the pleasant atmosphere. The staff seemed a little overwhelmed by the number of patrons. We waited a while to be seated despite empty tables being available. The same happened for a waiter to take our order. Afterwards the service improved. The food was excellent. My daughter's fried seafood was a little overcooked, but everyone else had great meals. I particularly liked my shrimp with grits. I think the price was high, but I understand that this is a small town in a beach community.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrier86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had the Chicken Roulade and it was out of this world! I thought it was a little pricey but hey you're at the beach and they obviously had a wonderful chef so splurge a little and check it out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mande23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ketch 55 Seafood Grill also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Ketch 55 Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing