We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”

Review of Surf Tones

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avon, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hoseman48
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My whole family come out to the outer Banks every year. We were supposed to rent this house last year but they had to fix the deck. This year we finally got to stay in this house. My wife was so excited to finally be staying right on the beach. Unfortunately that is the only good thing about the house. My parents and my 2 boys arrived a few days before us. They called me to inform me that the A/C was not working and they called the rental company Tuesday morning to notify them of the problem. A certified A/C repair man finally showed up Thursday and got it working but stated one of the units was completely shot. The A/C worked for less than a day and the sleeping rooms started warming up again. Saturday a man that works for the rental company showed up with window units for each of the bedrooms. We left for the beach to come back to the leaving quarters at 82 degrees. The rental company repair man came back and reset the outside breakers. I am very disappointed and I will not even go into the other things wrong with this house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33...
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

You can't beat the location of this rental: Oceanfront on a wide clean beach. The two-tiered deck provides panoramic views of the beach. The elevator makes moving in and out a breeze. The only downside is that the furnishings are in need of an update. The window coverings appear to date to the 1980s. The walls need a new coat of paint. It is clean and well located, though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the description and photos...BEWARE!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family just returned from a 6 day stay in this rental. To say we were disappointed with the property is a serious understatement. While it is true that the location near the beach is convenient and the outside decks are very nice, every other feature of the home was horrible. This house is extremely cramped, so you are on top of one another in the bedrooms and entire sleeping level. To call the "great room" expansive is a joke, it's not very big at all. The "well-equipped kitchen" features a leaky old fridge, a crappy electric stove with crooked burners, and shabby cookware. If you're going to claim the place sleeps 8 people, maybe you should have 8 glasses?! In addition, the paint is peeling off the walls, the carpets and couches are covered in stains and I was basically afraid to touch any of the pillows. The only word for this rental home is SHABBY. The owners and Surf or Sound have a lot of nerve charging these prices for it. I'm currently pursuing a partial refund.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLea78
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the location! This home provides what you need for a great family outdoor beach vacation. The proximity to the beach, outdoor shower, BBQ grill, and decks were wonderful. Though not updated in the least, the décor & kitchen provided basic necessities, however, the elevator was broken so we did have to lug our suitcases & belongings up 3 flights of stairs. However, we had a great time!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing