We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spring Break vacation”

Review of Absolutely Shore

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Avon, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wmizera
Johnson City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Spring Break vacation”
Reviewed May 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our first Spring Break stay after 7 or 8 summer vacations in the Outer Banks. This was a very nice house and Avon was a great village choice for a "pre-season" stay. Marvelous views, great recreational area under the house; and plenty of chairs around the pool. Great stay and Surf or Sound is unquestionably the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrf207
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service. Great Location.”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This house was just what we wanted. It is right on the beach. We went a little before their busy season so the area was quiet. It was lovely.

That being said, I wouldn't reccomend this vacation rental company to anyone. Maybe the others are just as bad, I don't know. But this one was terrible. When we first arrived it was late maybe 10pm so we picked up the key and headed to find the house. We found it okay but there were no instructions on which door to open so we spent a good 10 minutes feeling frustrated and not knowing how to get inside. When we finally got in and unloaded our stuff we noticed how icky the bathrooms were - hair on the toilet seats, etc. They hadn't even given us toilet paper - good thing I brought some...

We went to check in the next morning and complained and they offered to send someone over to clean but it was too late, we'd already unpacked. They gave us the "welcome bag" with handsoap & toilet paper that was apparently supposed to have been in the house upon arrival. It doesn't surprise me that they failed to do so, I heard a story of someone arriving at their vacation house and finding the maid was asleep on the couch not finished cleaning it.... glad that wasn't my experience.

Anyway, the next issue we had with the vacation rental people was that I wanted to watch a movie and could not figure out how to get the TV to DVD mode. I complained. Made several calls. probably spoke with 3 different people...and it took THREE days for this problem to be addressed. That's half my vacation!! And then when they finally sent someone over they fixed it but didn't explain to me how to fix it so when it happened again the remotes didn't work so I had to get up to change the channel when watching TV urgggh.

And then at the end of the vacation you're expected to clean the house yourself or be charged additionally. Nice.

Otherwise - the area is lovely. Kolbe is a good location. There are plenty of attractions in the area to keep you busy. We loved the little art store up the road from the house that offers art classes.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. We do apologize that we weren’t able to meet your vacation expectations. Although you declined our offer, we offered to come out and re-clean the property in hopes of ensuring your satisfaction with the home.

We do let our guests know prior to check-in that we don’t provide paper or cleaning products in the home and strongly advise people to bring any of these items with them especially if they will be arriving after the stores are closed. However, we do provide a small starter pack for our vacationers that includes a roll of toilet paper along with other convenience sized household items.

We also apologize that there was a problem with the remote control for the TV/DVD. We tried to contact you so that we could reprogram or replace the control but we had difficulty reaching you. We did install the new remote but it sounds like perhaps the universal remote was maybe a little tricky to use.

To address your departure cleaning comment, we do have a policy that all guests do a spiff clean prior to their departure. This includes removing any trash from the home, removing food items from the kitchen, cleaning the dishes and vacuuming the floors. We are happy to provide this service to any guest who requests it but there is a charge.

Thank you again for your comments and we will go back to our housekeeping and maintenance managers to see how we can improve our service and communication with our valued guests. We want to ensure that you enjoy your vacation and leave Hatteras Island wanting for nothing but to return.

Your friends at Surf or Sound Realty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing